Any ENGL Steve Morse Head owners here?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by zurdo, Aug 21, 2012.

  1. zurdo

    zurdo Soccer/Metal/Beer

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Hi,
    I just got this monster a few weeks ago and I'm facing a problem, hopefully is something dumb I'm missing, but anyway, I figured I ask you guys.

    This head features two FX loops.

    I have a delay pedal hooked to FX loop 1 and a Harmonizer on FX 2

    For some reason, FX 1 seems to be on all the time, unless I switch to FX 2.
    I'd like to combine both or use them independently, depending on the moment of the song I'm playing.

    In other words, I wanna play a solo, start with delay, add some harmonizer to certain parts, switch it off and go back to delay only. Or vice-versa.

    I hope you guys can help me out
    Thanks!

    :hbang:
     
  2. Krucifixtion

    Krucifixtion Duncan Hills

    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    182
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Bolton, CT
    You can only use one loop at a time and you can't bypass both completely, so either loop1 will always be on or loop2 will always be on. You would be better off putting both pedals in the same loop and switching the pedals on and off when you want them.
     
  3. zurdo

    zurdo Soccer/Metal/Beer

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    there goes my idea of having only a midi cable on stage. I guess I'll have to get an GCX a Ground Control, spend more money and have way too much gear.
    I love gear anyway lol
    Thanks for your reply!
     
  4. MetalDaze

    MetalDaze Repless in Seattle

    Messages:
    2,245
    Likes Received:
    937
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    When I saw this, I thought of the Carvin V3. It has two loops that you can independently switch on or off. Plus, it remembers how you have it set for each channel, so you don't have to worry about switching loops and channels at the same time.
     
  5. Shannon

    Shannon Lord Super Awesome Contributor

    Messages:
    10,077
    Likes Received:
    1,729
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Exactly. It's one or the other on Engl heads.
     
  6. Krucifixtion

    Krucifixtion Duncan Hills

    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    182
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Bolton, CT
    If you got a rack processor or floor pedal board that could do both effects and was MIDI switchable you could set up different patches. One with just delay and one with delay and harmonizer that would be the easier way to do it.
     
  7. zurdo

    zurdo Soccer/Metal/Beer

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    thanks for your replies guys. Even though I'm blown away by the tone I'm getting with this head. This FX Loop thing doesn't make sense to me at all. Now instead of have two extra pedals (delay,harmonizer) and a footswitch, I'll have to get an FX unit and a midi controller. Bummer.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.