Advice on audio interface and software for home recording?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Alex79, Jul 23, 2015.

1. Alex79

Alex79 SS.org Regular

Hi all,

I'm looking into buying an audio interface in the near future (September, after moving house). I'm not a complete novice, but close.
    I currently have Ableton Live Intro, a starters edition, and a Firewire Terratec Phase X24. I never really managed very well with this and I mostly blame Ableton Live for this, the concept is just rather strange and everything seems counterintuitive to me.

I also have a Sennheiser microphone that I like a lot (E609 or E906?).

My new interface needs to fulfill the following criteria:
    - work with MAC and PC (I want to use my MBA for recording)
    - power off USB
    - allow both XLR/mic in recording and direct guitar. It seems some of the cheaper ones don't have a mic preamp.
    - MOST IMPORTANT: easy to use recording software included

My budget would cover the following devices:

Focusrite 2i4 - Fluff (? bearded guy on Youtube) uses this and his demos sound great, and I like the -10 db pad switches, BUT: it comes with Ableton Live again and that almost rules this one out completely
    Presonus Audiobox 22VSL - Ola Englund from The Haunted uses this on his demo; I like this a lot, but I have no idea how the software Studio One Artist is.
    Steinberg UR22 - It comes with Cubase AI 7, which is supposed to be easy to use (claim from the website), but the interface is very cheap and I find that suspicious.
    Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 - Cubase LE 6 and a really cool look; I'm just worried that this might be designed more for DJs than musicians.

Advice, suggestions and recommendations greatly appreciated!

2. DavidLopezJr

DavidLopezJr SS.org Regular

The 2i4 is my favorite of the bunch.

Honestly for software either use Reaper or wait until Studio One Prime comes out (100% free).