A few bass questions

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by viifox, Jun 8, 2020.

1. viifox

viifox SS.org Regular

I've been playing guitar for over 20 years, but am fairly new to the recording scene.

I'm currently using the Omega amp plugin (which is awesome), and I have been double tracking with great results.

I just picked up Eurobass, but am a bit confused on how to actually implement it in a mix.

So i really only have a few questions when it comes to implementing Eurobass into the mix.

1. Is it best to only single track? Or should i record 2 takes and then pan them stereo? Or is Eurobass already recorded in stereo, so there's no need for that?

2. What the hell does the bass actually play? Does it follow the guitar? Does it follow the drums? Everyone seems to have a different take on this, and from all the music i listen to, the answer is BOTH!

But how the hell do you know what is going to work best for each situation?

The track I'm currently working on is a bit djenty, and a bit melodic, if that helps any.

3. Is automation (ducking/sidechaining) recommended so that the double kick and bass don't muddy the mix? I use this technique all the time for other genres of music, so am just wondering if the same applies here.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited: Jun 8, 2020
  2. viifox

viifox SS.org Regular

Regarding question 1, isn't the bass actually just center panned (or close to it) in most mixes?

3. GunpointMetal

GunpointMetal SS.org Regular

Yeah, you really don't need stereo for bass. If you do you can low-pass a parallel track and add a stereo chorus or something light a little dimensions. Obviously not 100%, but I like bass to follow the guitars tightly during percussive riffy parts and follow the drums more during more melodic sections while outlining any chord changes/implied changes.

viifox likes this.
  4. viifox

viifox SS.org Regular

Perfect! Thanks!

5. music rehabhd

music rehabhd SS.org Regular