A/B Box

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Eric Christian, Feb 18, 2012.

  1. Eric Christian

    Eric Christian Banned

    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    150
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Lake Oswego, OR
    I've got two separate Vypyr stacks now. Basically one is running my high gain rhythm and the other my high gain lead with delay etc. I've got some other pedals I use in front of both setups as well. In everyones opinion what is the absolute best A/B Box to seemlessly switch between these two setups?
     
  2. Adrian-XI

    Adrian-XI SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    180
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    The absolute best A/B box? They all do pretty much the same thing... What else do you want it to do? I know some have adjustable levels, but apart from that, I don't know how they differ.
     
  3. TheKindred

    TheKindred TimeTravel Innovator

    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  4. Eric Christian

    Eric Christian Banned

    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    150
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Lake Oswego, OR
    I wish it was that simple. They do all differ. Some don't actually ground the channel you're not using for instance. Others use poor quality components. Some use batteries and other don't. I'm just looking for honest real world experiences of users here before I buy one.
     
  5. iamdunker

    iamdunker SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Keyrock Iowa
  6. TheKindred

    TheKindred TimeTravel Innovator

    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  7. Eric Christian

    Eric Christian Banned

    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    150
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Lake Oswego, OR
  8. Sephael

    Sephael Divine Paradøx Contributor

    Messages:
    2,264
    Likes Received:
    139
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    Ky
    I use a Morley ABY MIX, two inputs that I can blend (great for routing a clean signal parallel to effects), and switch for both outs. A tad more tap dancing, but being able to switch between either or both on the fly is nice.

    http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/ABYMix/
     
  9. jordanky

    jordanky Contributor

    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    948
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Location:
    Belfry, KY
    Get an Electro-Harmonix Switchblade. As simple as can be and rock solid. Also pretty cheap as well.
     
  10. iff

    iff SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    I'd be more concerned about quality if it was an ABY...AB, not so much.

    That said, if I was after an AB, I'd go with Loop Master.
     
  11. amarshism

    amarshism SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane/World
    I used to use a radial and it was awesome.
     
  12. oniduder

    oniduder HONKEY DONKEY

    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    525
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    the metro, sc
    i recommend the y-not by rjm and the radial either the bones aby or the tonebone jx-2

    everything else i can't vouch for, except to say the morley shit is, well, shitty

    and i haven't tried anything by lehle but i'd assume they know what they're doing, it's german so yeah

    the rjm though is cheap as all get out on the website rjmmusic.com 129 or so,

    cheap cheap and midi controllable, so i think it's i win win
     
  13. KingAenarion

    KingAenarion Resident Studio Nerd

    Messages:
    3,706
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    The radial ones... hands down no questions asked in my books.

    Reliable, tough... what a good piece of guitar gear should be!
     
  14. bikewoods

    bikewoods New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    If you trust your soldering, build one using Mike Fuller's (Fulltone) schematic. It's pretty simple, and as long as you have good wire, it's really transparent. I built one for the band I guitar tech for (Versus The World) and it's perfect for what they need it for. AB only no Y blending though.

    if you wanna buy one, Radial is really great and the Palmer ABY is amazing
     
  15. Eric Christian

    Eric Christian Banned

    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    150
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Lake Oswego, OR
    So, I ordered one from GC last weekend and it showed up today...

    God what a piece of crap this thing is... Not even worth taking a picture of because its going to be returned tomorrow. 0 out 5 stars. Two thumbs down. :noway::noway:

    Bottom line I'm using it to switch between two half stacks. Well, you can still hear amp B muted when you're on amp A. Plus when you then switch to amp B the volume is noticably diminished compared to normal and then when you turn it up the speakers of the other cabinet go all microphonic and then both amps feeback like crazy. Oh, and when both amps are turned down all the way there is a real noticeable hum that changes when you move the pedal around so thats telling me its got other issues with shielding or something.

    So yeah, back to square one. Can anyone suggest a better solution? All I want to do it seemlessly switch between two heads; one being my gated 6505+ and the other being my Vypyr. I want no loss of tone, no hum, no popping when switching and a complete bypass of the killed amp.
     
  16. antknee

    antknee Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Location:
    Sparland IL
    Radial switchbone. Its expensive. But its killer. Lots of options like gain, mid boost,polarity reverse{wich I had to have] and ground lift. Check it out.
     
  17. oniduder

    oniduder HONKEY DONKEY

    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    525
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    the metro, sc
    yeah you shouldn't get a cheap aby or the like, i'm running a lehle p-split II right now and just running two amps at one time all the time,

    the rjm i owned still is a very cool good unit but i don't need it with all the other crap i own

    peace sorry it didn't work out for you
     
  18. EOT

    EOT I pull over 500 lbs.

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    381
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    kansas
    The only one I've used is the Voodoo Labs amp selector(?). It's actually got 4 outs that can all be used at the same time. Worked great though. I'm using a RJM RG16 now and it's great. A lot more than you're looking I know, but based on the quality of it, and RJM's customer service, I'd recommend the Y not.
     
  19. Scordare

    Scordare SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    109
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Ill-noise, USA
    I use a Radial Bigshot ABY, its a great box for $80. Its all passive (no battery needed), no pops and sounds transparent to me. The only thing I dont like is that there is no indicator of what channel/mode you are using..but that is because it doesnt use batteries. Check it out.
     
  20. fitterhappier

    fitterhappier More Productive

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Get the Radial Bigshot. Prob the best one out there.

    I used to have a Livewire ABY box that I got from GC - crapped out after 6 months of use. Horrible noise issues.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.