8 stringed dilemma!!!

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by screename1011011, Mar 28, 2013.

1. screename1011011

screename1011011 New Member

Hey guys. I'm totally new to 7/8 string stuff (as well as any sort of guitar forum). I'm a little lost... here's my question: what 8 string guitars should I consider purchasing between $1,000 and $1,500? Thanks!
    DK

2. WaffleTheEpic

WaffleTheEpic Banned

Why spend that much on your first ERG? You might not like it.

In that range though, you could find a nice used RG2228, new and used Carvin DC800s... Higher end Agiles... etc

3. berzerkergang

berzerkergang Banned

Personally, for your jump from a 6 to an 8, I would spend less on something like an RG8 to see if you like the feel and working with an 8. If you like it then you can A. sell it and upgrade or B. modify it with better pickups and so on. Schecter, Agile and LTD also have some great entry level 8 strings.

4. tripguitar

tripguitar Settler of Catan

if you have specifics in mind you could easily get a Carvin DC800 for that price range. You can go to carvin.com and built a guitar to your specs (not everything is customizable but there are alot of options). Thats what i have and i love it, although some people dislike the pickups. i dont mind them.

If youre an ibanez guy, people seem to really like the Ibanez RG2228 - you could probably find a used one in your price range.

if you want to save money on your guitar and get better pickups check out rondomusic.com they have a bunch of really well priced options. or you could get a brand new ibanez iron label for 900 i think.

hope it helps!

5. WaffleTheEpic

WaffleTheEpic Banned

My Agile Intrepid 8 string is up for trade/sale in the classifieds if you wanna take a look.

6. screename1011011

screename1011011 New Member

7. berzerkergang

berzerkergang Banned

Best bet is start with something affordable but with quality. Keep it around 800 or under.

8. jonajon91

jonajon91 New Picture