7 String headless build

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by foreright, Apr 28, 2014.

1. foreright

foreright SS.org Regular

Ok, this is my first build thread so go gently :)

This will be my sixth build although the first four were a VERY long time ago (ie. in the 90s at uni!). I got the bug back again last year when I built a neck-through superstrat for my wife for Christmas.

This is to be a bolt-on necked 7-string Strandberg shaped headless with TFM hardware and EMGs. It has a one piece Rosewood neck, a Cocobolo (I think - been a while since I bought it!) fretboard and English Ash body. It is a 25.5-27" multiscale also.

It is going to take me quite some time to complete I expect (it has so far...) due to a recent house move and the wife thinking that fixing up the house is more important than me "playing with my toys".

Anyway... on with the build...

Neck blank squared and fingerboard cut to size and slotted...

[​IMG]

Body blank and template...

[​IMG]

Neck cut out, truss rod routed. The neck is bolted on with machine bolts and t-nuts:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Body cut out and tidied up, neck pocket cut - this is the tightest I've ever managed to make a neck pocket which is good. You can pick this up by the neck and shake it without the body falling off :)

[​IMG]

Holes drilled for controls and pickups...

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Testing out what the hardware looks like... pretty cool I think!

[​IMG]

The dog looks suitably impressed...

[​IMG]

3mm Luminlay dots installed - not sure what's up with this pic as the dots actually DO line up in real life!

[​IMG]

Anyway... that's it for now - planning to radius the fretboard, finish off shaping the back of the neck (specifically transition at head end) and drill mounting holes for hardware this evening if I get time.