7 String Black Limba Star Guitar Build

JSil13

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
While I'm on the finishing stage of my current build I've been collecting all the parts for my next build. I've been loving my last star guitar that I made using a Warmoth neck and since I sold my baritone build I wanted something for that low B again. I've never owned a 7 string, so this is my first attempt at making one as well.

Here's the last build. Basswood body, metallic gray duplicolor, Black Winter, Hipshot bridge and tuners, and a Warmoth neck.
39A4FCF8-97AD-41F2-8D86-1027460DF803.jpg

JSil13

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
I got a pretty good deal on this Explorer sized black limba blank. The last build I had to glue on a piece for the bottom wing which wasn't a big deal since it was getting painted. I also picked up some figured maple for my last build and got an extra piece of flame maple. It will be getting the ziricote fretboard that I already slotted, a set of Black Winters, Tusq XL nut, jumbo frets, Hipshot bridge, and Hipshot open gear Grip Locks.

9E78F10A-2409-4EEF-BDC8-35BD91581B09.jpg 20F18D34-AE37-41D3-9B1A-258C3DE54F5B.jpg 7630E3C4-3E86-4190-BC94-B3573DFA0CA0.jpg

JSil13

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Using the nut width, scale length, and bridge string spacing I drew up the neck. I'm using a larger version of the headstock I use on my last build. The nut width is 50mm, but I may make it 48mm just to get a little thinner. The heel width is 65mm which I guess is the same as some Charvels and other guitars. This leaves 1/8" on the sides of the strings to the edge of the fretboard.

A590A042-6B4A-4605-B77E-D7DE5DE1B902.jpg IMG_1868.jpeg

JSil13

SS.org Regular
Reaction score