Your typical 7 string beginner...

Discussion in 'Sevenstring Guitars' started by Johnson49, Jan 13, 2019.

1. Johnson49

Johnson49 New Member

Alright here we go with the cliche.... Hi my name is Calvin....... hello Calvin....... I currently play a 6 string but my metal I feel isn't metal enough. Although the douche baggery of buying an 8 or 9 string right away is compelling, I feel dipping my tootsies in the shallow end of the extended range of guitars is a little more beneficial... So I've played a few Ibeenhads, music man's (men's?), and higher range Jackson's. I work for a living so I have no money... (You know..bills and all) I am sticking around the $300 range. I like the look of the Agile 725 Pros. Which would be the top of my range and above. However I've had a hard on for Jackson's. Owned plenty of them. Love their necks and playability. I found an older Jackson DR7 that has been begging me to accidentally tap the purchase button under the wife's nose... I've watched enough videos to make my eyes and ears bleed (seriously.. some people need to practice.) Does anyone have input on my horrible indecisiveness? Would I benefit from buying an Agile with presumably better hardware and pickups....or do I buy the Jackson and Frankenstein it a bit? Any one have input on either of these guitars? Input on Agiles in general?? Bueller? Thanks

2. mlp187

mlp187 Burrito Master Contributor

Get an agile.

3. Glades

Glades Down in the Everglades

Save your money, you know .. over time. And purchase a good instrument.

When I was a kid and income was limited I would save for MONTHS or even a year to make a purchase. Kids these days ...

4. BigViolin

BigViolin my vibrato is older than you

For me neck shape, scale length and bridge type need to be right from the start and everything else either doesn't matter or is easily changed.