Your average teen guitar player. Kinda?

Discussion in 'Member Introductions' started by TauSigmaNova, Dec 15, 2013.

1. TauSigmaNova

TauSigmaNova Guitarist Wannabe.

Hey guys. I'm a 15 year old guitarist from New York City. When I was little I took 2 and a half years of boring piano lessons. Learned basic music stuff like notes/minor and major scales and classical music. Got bored of that and when I was like 8 or 10 I wanted to play guitar. I grew up on classic rock and the likes and was intrigued with it. My parents only got me an acoustic guitar [which sorta bummed be out at the time, but they were right in doing so long term]. It was a 3/4 sized Dean Playmate acoustic and god was it bad. Terrible action, construction, neck joint, etc, pretty much what you'd expect from a sub-100 dollar acoustic. Anyway, I gave that up pretty quickly. Wanted to start playing solos and all that stuff and never wanted to practice. Was very boring for me.

Then, last December, listening to all my favorite bands, I wanted to play guitar again. My cousin had an old electric, a Fender Starcaster which he got a few years ago for guitar lessons in High School and never used. Either way, I bought it off him for 100 dollars, amp and extra strings included, and went to work. I even remember what I learned first: The intro to Queensryche's Jet City Woman and the intro to Sweet Child O' Mine. Good times. I've been plaing for about a year now, maybe a bit less and things have definitely changed since I first started learning music as a little kid.