wiring

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by CONNORPUTREFY, Dec 19, 2011.

1. CONNORPUTREFY

CONNORPUTREFY SS.org Regular

Howdy
    i have got some new barekncukle painkillers and whilst i had alot of problems wiring them to the regular ibby switch , i thought i would buy a super switch. Now i wired the pickups to switch as per diagram on bkp site, to which everything was upside down, 1st position - neck,5-bridge. so i literally reversed the wires and everything is cool except my config works like this
    1st - bridge
    2nd - split
    3rd- both pickups
    4th - neck slug
    5th - neck slug

i cant seem to get full hum cancelling in the neck. can anyone help me out as i have no experience with super switches etc.
    any help appreciated
    cheers
    connor

2. CONNORPUTREFY

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Heres a few pics, any help appreciated.

3. teabagger

teabagger SS.org Regular

Pictures are hard to judge, but it does not look like the your shielded wire is grounded. That can add noise, also try to use a non hot color for ground wire in the future(not that it adds noise just makes its a pain to follow).

4. CONNORPUTREFY

Thanks for gettin back mate, apologies for the picture quality. Shielded wire is not grounded? What u mean? Both blacks and grounds are soldered to the back of volume. Surely is neck is only working on single coil surely it's a case of i have wire to 1 wrong lug, no?
    All help appreciated!
    Cheers

5. CONNORPUTREFY

All red wires are just adjoining wires to the pots and then to switch. Would it help if I described what's on the switch lugs?

6. CONNORPUTREFY

7. CONNORPUTREFY

Can anyone help me please? Proper pickled over it!Cheers

8. SirMyghin

SirMyghin The Dirt Guy Contributor

I haven't even looked over your wiring, but I will say, your soldering is freaking awful, and cold, it could easily be the problem on its own.