Which POD for live use?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Blasphemer, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Blasphemer

    Blasphemer Bird Law expert

    Messages:
    1,989
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    I'm going to start making my live rig straight-into-PA, and use my 5150 for when there isn't a PA.

    I know I want a POD HD, but should I get the HD500 or the Pro? It seems like there really isn't a difference between the two. I feel like having the Pro would be better, but it would also need a rack and the L6 shortboard controller. It's also more expensive.

    What are your opinions?
     
  2. petereanima

    petereanima Br00tal Bubbly Mofo

    Messages:
    5,060
    Likes Received:
    765
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    As much as I love rack gear...the HD500 has a much better value/price-ratio.
     
  3. Ishan

    Ishan Giant Fridge Magnet

    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    219
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    If you can trust having you entire signal chain into a pedal board the HD500 is better (and cheaper).
    If you worry having some random people kicking and trashing it and be like a dumb ass without backup ( :lol: ) the Pro is better (you just have to change the controller in case of a problem)
    The short board is not mandatory, any MIDI foot controller will work. (so a cheap FCB1010 is ok)
     
  4. Blasphemer

    Blasphemer Bird Law expert

    Messages:
    1,989
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    I know the shortboard isn't necessary, I just like its layout a lot
     
  5. GhostsofAcid

    GhostsofAcid SuiƧmez fanboy

    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    I used the HD500>PA setup live with my old band. I don't really see a reason to get the pro, you'll just need to buy more stuff and I don't think theres much of a difference feature wise. (I don't know for sure, maybe someone else does) The only reason i'd see going with the pro is if you already had a rack and the other associated stuff.
     
  6. petray

    petray New Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Personally I run a Pod Hd 500 through any effects loop I go through in the situation, And my sound is definitely consistent everytime A tad different because of Cabinets and valve tubes what ever amp I get my hands on so. Preferably I would say hd 500 but if you'd like to carry a rack, and have a seperate midi board controlling patches by all means. Pod hd 500 is built quite solid i must admit, Only thing you might have to do in the very very far future is replace the switches but thats normal with ANY line 6 product, Because they put so much work into having GREAT SOUND AND MODELING etc etc, that the switches can be on the midrange to lower end side. Of course have to remember thats just my opinion and to each his/her own. Appreciate you reading and possibly helping your decision also hoping to hear what you decide on.
     
  7. petereanima

    petereanima Br00tal Bubbly Mofo

    Messages:
    5,060
    Likes Received:
    765
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    For simple patch-switching yes. For everything else: unfortunately not. The POD HD Pro accepts only PC messages from 3rd party midi-controllers, for everything beyond you have to use the FBV-floorboard (controlling a Wah, a Volume pedal,....).
     

Share This Page