What's the story with Troy Grady?

Discussion in 'Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques' started by Stilicho, Mar 6, 2018.

1. Stilicho

Stilicho SS.org Regular

I've just found Troy Grady's "Crack the Code" series and I was wondering if anyone has ever bought any of his materials and found them useful?

I'm interested in the idea of someone breaking down the mechanics of picking but the website gives off strong snake-oil salesman vibes. The other thing is that I can't imagine anything ground-breaking that guitarists don't already know, and his "pickslanting" series seems to just be a 5 hour elaboration on economy picking from what I've been reading.

I'm a decent enough guitarist, but I've been struggling to push my sixteenth note scales past 195bpm and I'm not sure if this is a technique issue or if I just need to practice more. (I've been easing off of metronome practice to learn more songs recently.) So I guess I'm getting a little greedy and looking for "secrets" when I should know better...

Anyway, any and all opinions are welcome!

2. cwhitey2

cwhitey2 BlackendCrust Metal™

He's legit.

Ben Eller loves him and I love Ben so he equals win.

But really I have tried to get into him and it's not for me...

Stilicho likes this.
  3. Randy

Randy ROOMFORYOUROOMFORYOUROOMFORYOU Super Moderator

Pickslanting is not economy picking, it's alternate picking and changing your pick angle based on optimizing where your pick winds up when you switch strings during fast runs.

Essentially, picking perfectly flat or with the wrong slant for your run makes it so you're stuck between two strings and have to 'jump' one string (imagine an ascending 3NPS run, starting with picking down) on your way to the next. Being conscious of your pick slanting makes it so you're ''outside" the strings on your way to the next one. I know somebody who worked at it and it was a legitimate 'ah ha' immediate jump in his optimal speed.