What kinda webcam do you guys use?

Discussion in 'Art, Media & Photography' started by SnowfaLL, Mar 20, 2007.

  1. SnowfaLL

    SnowfaLL SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    684
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Location:
    Halifax NS
    Hey, I need a new webcam desperately, one that I can record guitar videos with..

    The one I have, is so slow you cant really record fast finger movement, so its useless.. And stupidly, I bought one at a pawnshop, it didnt work.. And they wouldnt return it (bastards), Then my dad bought me one for Xmas, and it was a piece of shit too (slow, dark)

    Anyways.. What do you guys all use to get that nice smooth guitar-playing videos?

    Heres how horrible mine is.. Yes I know I look stupid, hair was in that "mid" growing stage that sucks, and I had abit of extra weight on at the time =/ Just playing some little melody I wrote..
    http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=1401589012
     
  2. Chris

    Chris metalguitarist.org Forum MVP

    Messages:
    18,861
    Likes Received:
    4,161
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
  3. skinhead

    skinhead Manager / RHLC ©

    Messages:
    5,946
    Likes Received:
    522
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Argentina
  4. SnowfaLL

    SnowfaLL SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    684
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Location:
    Halifax NS
    ehh My dad bought a very nice videocamera, but it has no USB port.. only a TV output or whatever.. and Im not sure I know how to go from TV to my comp =/

    I do record sometimes with my digital camera, but it only records like 30 secs max, then stops the video.. Thats a pain.

    I think u can get webcams tho that are like less than $100 that can do good enough for videos.. many people have them
     
  5. Leon

    Leon {##[====:::. Contributor

    Messages:
    13,717
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Location:
    Nebula, Ohio
    i've got a Logitech quickcam.

    [​IMG]

    it's alright ;)
     
  6. darren

    darren Decibel Guitars Forum MVP

    Messages:
    13,115
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Toronto Area, Canada
    :lol: Did you forget who you're talking to? ;)

    Camcorders generally don't have USB. If it's a DV camera, it probably has FireWire/iLink/IEEE 1394, and you can import digital video into your computer that way.

    Then you might consider getting a better camera that's only limited by the amount of available storage. Like Chris, i have the SD600 as well, and i'm really impressed with the video quality that comes out of it. And with a 2GB card, i can record something like 16 minutes of video.

    I suppose it depends on what your definition of "good enough" is.

    The limitations you're seeing in your current camera may not be in the hardware, but in the software... it looked at the video you posted above, and it's a ridiculously low frame rate, which is what you'd use for "webcam" applications like video conferencing and chat, but totally insufficient for streaming video. See if you can jack the frame rate... you'll need at least 15 fps to get things smoother, or 30 fps if you really want to capture fast motion. Some of the cheap "webcams" you're looking at may not be up to the task. Also bear in mind that the rest of your computer has to be capable of capturing 30 FPS video (and simultaneous audio) as well.

    Also: You might want to clean your lens... it looks like there's quite a bit of dust on there.
     
  7. Rick

    Rick ALL HAIL DJOD Forum MVP

    Messages:
    18,915
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    As long as it gets the job done, right, Leon?
     
  8. SnowfaLL

    SnowfaLL SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    684
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Location:
    Halifax NS
    uh that logitech quickcam or whatever, thats the one I bought from a pawnshop, and it didnt work =/

    Could you post a video of it?

    Unfortunately, I tried the settings for like all 3 of my cams, its not software, as theres no framerate settings anywheres, They were all less than $30 each, so I dont expect them to have a high framerate..
     
  9. Adamh1331

    Adamh1331 RED. Contributor

    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    69
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Good ol' Tennessee!
    I have a logitech quickcam orbit its pretty sweet it follows you around
     
  10. kmanick

    kmanick Contributor

    Messages:
    5,822
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    BOSTON
    I just bought a Logitech Pro 5000. ($59.00 at Best Buy)
    It worked well for my web lesson.
    I haven't tried recording with it yet though.
    I have recorded a short video with my digital camera though and that came out pretty good .
     
  11. Leon

    Leon {##[====:::. Contributor

    Messages:
    13,717
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Location:
    Nebula, Ohio
  12. SnowfaLL

    SnowfaLL SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    684
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Location:
    Halifax NS
    Well only one of the vids worked for me, but it looked pretty slow and low framerate =[
     
  13. JPMDan

    JPMDan IT'S OVER 9000!!!! Contributor

    Messages:
    7,075
    Likes Received:
    417
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Location:
    New Orleans, Louisiana
  14. Buzz762

    Buzz762 Destroyer of Worlds Contributor

    Messages:
    2,928
    Likes Received:
    238
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    I use an old camcorder that I had and just run the S-Video out into the $30 TV-Capture card I bought.
     
  15. 7 Dying Trees

    7 Dying Trees Forum MVP

    Messages:
    9,937
    Likes Received:
    1,727
    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    7th Ethereal Plane of interstellar hell, Innit Bru
    That is the coolest webcam setup i have ever seen :D

    I don't have one, may get one eventually, but can never see the point!
     

Share This Page