What is your favorite tuning on 8-string guitar and why?

Discussion in 'Extended Range Guitars' started by Lizardkingeightstring, Aug 25, 2017.

1. Lizardkingeightstring

Lizardkingeightstring SS.org Regular

As a newer 8-string guitarist, I've experimented with different tunings over the years. Mainly I like tuning down on my Agile 8-string since its 27inch baritone scale. The tunings I keep it in are E A D G C F A D. D A D G C F A D, D G D G C F A D. I used to tune it to standard F# B E A D G B E. but after while I decided to tuning it down because its sounds better than my 25.5 scale 7-string.

2. Masoo2

Masoo2 SS.org Regular

My main tunings //

E A E A D G B E/E A E A D F# B E (Drop A/E)

Eb Ab Eb Ab Db Gb Bb Eb (Drop Ab/Eb)

D A D A D G B E/D A D A D F# B E (Drop D/A/D)

E G D G C F A D (Drop G/E)

I used to stick with the Drop A/E variations for 99% of the time, but as of the past few months I've kept my 8 in Drop Ab/Eb and have been loving it. The G changes to an F# when I write clean parts as I find they come more naturally to me with the F# instead of G. Something about the shift from 7 string Drop A to 6 string Drop A with a high E just works. Same for the Drop D-based tunings.

Tuning to an 8 string extension of David Maxim Micic's tuning (Eb Ab Eb Ab Eb Ab Bb Eb) is also incredibly fun to play.

Gorespe likes this.
  3. Gravy Train

Gravy Train Night Fiddler

I keep my two Ibanez RG852's in: F Bb Eb Ab Db Gb Bb Eb.

Keeps it brutal down low whilst maintaining clarity up on the higher strings.

chopshop777 likes this.
  4. beavis2306

beavis2306 Lusts for gear

I just tuned mine to drop f - f, c, f, a#, d#, g#, c, f. I do not get along with standard tuning and i felt like 27inches was a touch too short for drop e so i just bit the bullet and tuned it up. Sounds chunky af. Pretty happy so far.

5. KnightBrolaire

KnightBrolaire tinkerer/aspiring builder/8 string hoarder