What is the purpose of drum samples?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by jvms, Aug 6, 2017.

1. jvms

jvms SS.org Regular

Hello guys, I learned a while ago that some engineers, when recording drums, sample the drumkit that the drummer is playing and then replaces recorded tracks with them. I always understood why an engineer would use samples to replace a baddly recorded kit or even a kit that was recorded in a live concert, but why would he replace the sound of a kit with the exact same sound of the exact same kit in the mixing? Isn't that a bit redundant or am I missing something?

2. Stijnson

Stijnson SS.org Regular

I'm no expert, but in that case, as far as I understand, it is in order to replace some hits that the drummer might have hit less hard, off-beat or just missed completely, during tracking for example, and gives the engineer/mixer a chance to fix that. Besides that I imagine it's also very convenient to just record a sample without bleed and use that.

tedtan likes this.
  3. tedtan

tedtan SS.org Regular

This.

4. Random3

Random3 SS.org Regular

Apart from fixing mistakes or making rolls more consistent, one common reason to do this is to fix bleed problems. Like if there is a part that uses the floor tom and the china cymbal, there will likely be a lot of cymbal bleed in the tom mic. You can fix this problem by putting a completely clean tom sample in place of the live hit.

5. bostjan

bostjan MicroMetal Contributor

It's easier to adjust volume and timing of individual hits. It's easier to fix mistakes and problems. There's little to know bleed, or else the bleed is totally controllable, etc.