What is a tube amp and what do I need to know?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by 7 Dying Trees, Nov 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AndreLyles

    AndreLyles dreboogie

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Dude, this was an awesome article. Thanks so much for everything!
     
  2. Cobhc221

    Cobhc221 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Location:
    Tucson,Arizona
    what about poweramps? im fairly new to them and was wondering how the essentially work?

    i was looking at engls poweramps and the E850/100 has
    86l6gc tube to power the monster...so does that mean it has 200 watts of tube? im confused....
     
  3. Pav

    Pav ???

    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Location:
    Toledo, OH
    A typical guitar amp "head" has a preamp section, a power amp section, and often an effects loop in between the two. If you're looking at dedicated preamps or power amps, you're basically buying the preamp and power amp sections separately, as individual units, rather than everything conveniently routed together in one big case.

    That ENGL power amp you're looking at is a tube power amp. But if you get a power amp, you will also need some sort of preamp to run before it. The power amp would be the last part of your chain before you run it to your cab(s).
     
  4. mesaboogie6l6

    mesaboogie6l6 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Dayton Ohio
    No, it's 100 watts for each side, left(A) and right(B), stereo, 4-6L6 for the left, and 4-6L6 for the right. 100 watts total.
     
  5. Cobhc221

    Cobhc221 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Location:
    Tucson,Arizona

    that makes sense to me now thanks!
     
  6. Sferic

    Sferic SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Location:
    Tampa
    100W per side would be 200 total, not 100.
     
  7. Cobhc221

    Cobhc221 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Location:
    Tucson,Arizona
    im getting an Engl Rack setup soon and was very curious if you have to have two cabs to run the stereo setup?

    couldnt i just play with one standby on and one off?

    btw im buying an engl E570 Special Edition Preamp And an Engl E840/50W Stereo poweramp.

    Should i be fine with one cab or must i buy 2 to keep the signal from the output intact?
     
  8. 7 Dying Trees

    7 Dying Trees Forum MVP

    Messages:
    9,937
    Likes Received:
    1,727
    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    7th Ethereal Plane of interstellar hell, Innit Bru
    Normally you can run stereo power amps with one side off.

    Or you can get a stereo cab, and run both into that.
     
  9. 27duuude

    27duuude Picky about tone

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Location:
    Leeds, ME, USA
    Quick question for the people who build/design tube amps; is running my amp in 4 ohm mode through a 5.3 ohm load still out of safe ranges?

    I had some 16 ohm 70w speakers from combo amps (Peavey 6505 112, Jet City Eminence 112ext cab) running in parallel with 2 8 ohm Marshal GT50s in series.

    So the math is
    8+8=16
    16/3=5.3

    All 4 are in a Marshal 4x12 MG (I know the cab is crap). Just wondering if my 60w Peavey 6505 (now a head) has the balls to deal with the load.

    60w 4ohms
    ||
    16 = 16
    | |
    8 - 8


    I've had it at full blast (only cause I couldn't resist) and it still works fine but I want an engineers opinion, as mine is only as a technician and guitarist.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page