What do you have *on* your guitar while recording?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Ben.Last, Aug 8, 2012.

  1. Ben.Last

    Ben.Last Formerly Lern2Swim

    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    What extras do you have in your signal chain while doing the actual recording of your guitars? Regardless of whether you are going to be using the DI signal and only monitoring the effected audio or if you're actually using the signal as you record it, what do you have on there? Amp and cab probably. TS? EQ? Compressor?

    I'm trying to figure out what exactly I want to be adding after recording vs. what I want on the actual recorded signal/monitored signal, and I'd like to hear how other people treat this.
     
  2. illimmigrant

    illimmigrant A Different Logic

    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    111
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, Tx.
    Guitar => Axe FX2. Within it, TS808 => Noise Gate => Amp => Cab => EQ => Volume. Then one more EQ in the DAW for Mixing. Fairly simple.
     
  3. Winspear

    Winspear Tom Winspear Vendor

    Messages:
    10,536
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, U.K
    I'd just think about what is going to affect your performance.
    You will play differently if you don't have a screamer, for example, I'd imagine.
    I construct a basic tone for the song which is often just the final mix tone of the last track I did (which gets completely re-done by the time I finish the current track, haha).
    So usually that will be a Screamer and Head in Revalver, a cab impulse, and then an EQ. Sometimes compression. I disable noisegate to make me play as tight and clean as possible.
    I'd say as long as you have the correct gain level it doesn't matter too much - you just want to be listening to an amp that makes you pick right I guess.
    And of course anything like delay parts you're going to want to track WITH the delay to get it anywhere near how it should be.
     
  4. KingAenarion

    KingAenarion Resident Studio Nerd

    Messages:
    3,601
    Likes Received:
    162
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    No gate... I never let anyone track with a gate.

    The way I set monitoring gain is as little gain as possible. If they do any pinch harmonics, that's what I'll set the gain level too. If it's too little gain to pinch with, then they won't feel it right. Otherwise, I go for little gain to get them hitting the strings harder, as well as to better hear their intonation.
     
  5. adadglgmut

    adadglgmut Notes from a Ghost

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I usually try to get the majority of my effects and modulation in before I record, ie. running through my pedal board. Granted, I don't use an AxeFX and prefer to get my rig to interact with the room I'm in (which is a whole other can of worms...).

    Just about the only effects that I add in after recording are various EQs, individual single comps and multi comps and a touch of room verb to get everything to sit together. Really, there is no one way to do it. For some heavy effect driven passages or weird space-trip ambient type stuff, you might rely more heavily on post-recording processing to set the mood and keep things clear.
     
  6. Winspear

    Winspear Tom Winspear Vendor

    Messages:
    10,536
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, U.K
    Yeah, King has it. I forgot that I ALWAYS pinch harmonic check despite never playing pinch harmonics in my music, haha.
     
  7. AliceLG

    AliceLG \m/^_^\m/

    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Location:
    Braunschweig, Germany
    My recording rig is my live rig. It's actually my only rig :lol:

    In the DAW I'd fiddle with EQs, compressors and reverbs when needed.
     
  8. Edika

    Edika SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3,348
    Likes Received:
    370
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Londonderry, N.Ireland, UK
    My experience when tracking in a studio was that you find a tone on the amp itself which sounds good with proper mic placement and that's that. It is important to find a sound that you can play well but that will also sound good in the mix and the type of music you'll be playing. Taking the signal wit a DI is always a good idea to have options after the mix. EQ'ing, modulation effects, compressors, gates, limiters were put afterwards so the original signal should be closer to what the end sound would be.
     
  9. octatonic

    octatonic I can count to 8.

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    London
    It is either:

    Amp -> mic (usually a Sennheiser E906) -> Groove Tubes Vipre Preamp -> Focusrite ISA220 (for eq only) ->Apogee Rosetta 800 converter.

    or

    Axe FX.

    I don't track with compression- the amp should have enough if it is dialed in correctly.
    I actually don't like compression on guitars that much- it kills dynamics, although if doing a lot of layering then I might compress the guitar bus a tad- but no more than a db or two of reduction.
     
  10. Dr. Von Goosewing

    Dr. Von Goosewing Contributor

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    I agree using only as much gain as you need makes sense, but I'm curious as to why you would not record with a gate? After all, if it's set up right you're only cutting out sounds you don't want, right? :scratch: Is it more of a psychological "gates encourage sloppy playing so = bad take" philosophy? Do you leave noisegating to the mix stage?
     
  11. Ghost40

    Ghost40 Dude Contributor

    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    201
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland
    Guitar > Modded TS9 > Mesa Dual Rec > Cab > interface > DAW. I don't normally add anything until after the recording. Then its pretty much just EQ.
     
  12. axxessdenied

    axxessdenied SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,942
    Likes Received:
    422
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    :shred: > pod hd pro > firestudio project > daw
    But I'm new to all this... digital is definitely easier to work with than mic'ing up a cab (tried it haha)
     

Share This Page