What DAW do i really want?...

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by ICSvortex, Oct 4, 2018.

1. ICSvortex

ICSvortex 0-0-0-1

Hey guys!

So, the question here is, which DAW i should get next. I've been using Cubase 5 for the last 3 or 4 years and overall i'm pretty happy with it. But since it's getting quite old now and its sarting to behave weirdly and it doesnt support all of my VST's anymore so i guess its time for am update!

But here's my problems: Cubase 9.5 Pro would set me back AT LEAST 300$ and that seems a little much for me since i only use it for demo-recording for my band and solo stuff. BUT the artist version limits me to 64 audio tracks and that's not enough for some of my bands stuff.

And of course someone's gonna say "use reaper!" but the problem i have with reaper is the navigation. EVERYTIME i click on a track (that i want to delete or smthng) the timeline (or where the track will be playing if i hit play) goes to exactly that point and this bothers me to death tbh. I think its the same with protools eventhough i never tried it...

Now, is there an "affordable" DAW that can handle 128 AUDIO tracks at least and doesnt cost more than 150$-180$ AND most importantly, doesnt jump to wherever i click with the timeline?

And please dont say "you'll get used to it"^^

Thanks a lot!

2. Winspear

Winspear Tom Winspear Vendor

Reaper, options, preferences, audio, seeking - untick empty areas of tracks. This should do it.
    The one thing about Reaper that many users feel puts it above all other DAWs , is the ability to customise anything. Almost anything you can think of doing or changing, can be done :) Be it interface, functionality, or extreme nerdy tools - Reaper has your back via menu options, downloadable layouts, or 3rd party addons.

Last edited: Oct 4, 2018
    Flappydoodle, cwhitey2 and ICSvortex like this.
  3. Winspear

Winspear Tom Winspear Vendor