We're about to kick the drummer out of our band and I feel bad about it

Discussion in 'General Music Discussion' started by Lindmann, Dec 9, 2017.

1. Lindmann

Lindmann SS.org Rectangular

...and the story behind it is:

I started playing the guitar around 6 years ago (self-taught). After a year a friend and I founded a band. We wanted to play some heavy and brutal stuff.
    He played drums, I "played" the guitar. Needless to say that we were pretty shitty back then. I was only able to play simple power chords and slow single note stuff.

Eventually a vocalist, another guitarist and a bassist joined us so we started playing a couple of occasional gigs. As the time went by my playing became constantly better, the vocalist became better and we got holf of a pretty talented guitarist.

In parrallel I started teaching myself proper songwriting and music production and ended up with a nice little home studio. We recorded an album, which we distributed ourselfes at first but then were offered a deal by a small local record company and we were hold out the prospect of a deal for future albums.

And here's the hook:
    From the very beginning noticed that the drummer wasn't up to the task even though he played the drums for several years already when we started out. At first I didn't know that his problems were that much of an issue especially because I wasn't a good guitarist either.
    He had problems keeping the tempo, he couldn't play double kicks (everything faster then quarter notes ended up in random feet twitching), he couldn't play any fills faster than quarter notes, he couldn't play to a click track and he hit the shells so soft that it never sounded heavy metal.
    I bet you could imagine that this was quite embarassing sometimes when we were at a gig.
    For the album I had to program all the drums.