VSTi's and Reaper not working.

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Holomovement, May 15, 2018.

1. Holomovement

Holomovement SS.org Regular

So, I’m new to recording and I've been trying to record a few songs/riffs.

I'm currently using Reaper as my DAW, Bias FX plug-in, and EZdrummer 2 for drums.
    The problem I'm having is when I start adding more and more tracks to Reaper the playback gets laggy and almost unlistenable.

As a test, I recorded 4 guitar tracks and added drums to it and when I hit playback all I could hear was fuzz. No drums or guitar. Then I turned the fx off of 2 of the tracks and it started to get better.

Basically, what I realized is the more tracks I add (especially ezdrummer) the worst the quality gets.

I'm not sure what to do next. Rather if its buy some sort of equipment to fix the problem or possibly some sort of software malfunction. If anyone could help that would be great.

2. steinmetzify

steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

Dude what's your comp specs? If it's low and you're adding a ton of stuff this would be a problem...

3. Holomovement

I'm using a Lenovo Yoga 720. Intel core I5, 8 GB ram.

I've been looking into investing into a desktop of some sort because I was thinking it was a processing or ram problem.

Any suggestions?

4. Holomovement

I'm using a Lenovo Yoga 720. Intel core I5, 8 GB ram. I've been looking into investing into a desktop of some sort because I was thinking it was a processing or ram problem.

Any suggestions?

5. steinmetzify

steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

Hmm...there’s going to be people popping in that are more knowledgeable than I am on this sort of thing, but I don’t think the i5 is the problem, I think it’d be the RAM.

I was getting into bigger orchestral projects earlier this year and my 8GB laptop couldn’t handle the load; went to a laptop with an i7 and 16 GB of RAM and no more issues.