Ur22 + GuitarRig/Ezmix + old laptop = Can I get an decent tone for practicing and recording easily?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by chopeth, Nov 5, 2017.

  1. chopeth

    chopeth SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    409
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Andalucía
    Hi there, mates.

    I just bought a Steinberg ur22 mkII, have Guitar Rig and Ezmix with Metal Gods expansion and thought I just had to plug the usb interface to my old laptop (Toshiba satellite 2GB RAM 32bits win7 sp1) to sound cool for night practice (ATH-M50x) and record simple ideas to share with my bandmates.

    I understand I can't get the tone of a finished album but I didn't expect such a crappy tone. Not all the presets in GR and Ezmix work (dunno why) and those which work sound cheap, with huge delays and the like. I'm disappointed because I have friends with the same interface who praise the tone they get with them, don't know if it's about the computer or my lack of expertise on the subject, and I'd love someone to help here in case you can shed some light upon it.

    Thanks in advance! Rock on!!
     
  2. chopeth

    chopeth SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    409
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Andalucía
    Forgot to mention I use 7 baritones with warpigs and juggernauts, but I don't think that is of any use with modern usb interfaces.
     
  3. Masoo2

    Masoo2 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Location:
    NC, USA
    I'm honestly not a huge fan of EZMix at all, so have you tried using some other plugins?

    ie: the demos for TSE X50, Thermionik + some external IRs, Helix Native, etc

    EZMix tones just sound so "odd" to me, I don't know how else to describe it.

    Some of the bass tones are alright though.
     
    chopeth likes this.
  4. chopeth

    chopeth SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    409
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Andalucía
    Thanks a lot!
    By the way, I'm trying without a DAW running, is there any problem about it?
     
  5. rahnvu

    rahnvu SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Location:
    Norway
    You need a daw for most other amp sims, especially if you want to use IRs instead of the built in cabs. I'd also recommend you try the Overloud TH3 demo. And remember that headphones will never be the same as a cab (or in this case monitors).
     
    chopeth likes this.
  6. Metropolis

    Metropolis SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    105
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Having too much input gain coming from pickups, pre amp of audio interface (even if it doesn't indicate clipping), or inside the software is really common problem. First of all try adjusting pickup height little bit lower, Warpigs are very hot. Also sound clip would help a lot, if problem was not something mentioned before. Or it might be you just don't like EZmix, and in my opinion GuitarRig doesn't nail heavy tones well at all, so trying something else could be an option.
     
    chopeth likes this.
  7. chopeth

    chopeth SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    409
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Andalucía
    Thanks a lot! I eventually managed to make it work with amplitube 3, can't say the same about the guitar rig or ezmix. The latter is plainly weird in my ears and I can't make the former sound (I guess this is a problem of configuration I keep on missing).

    Now I'm trying to integrate it to Studio One to record something, not very sucessfull either... hell, this recording world is such a pain.
     
  8. schwiz

    schwiz Lefty

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Location:
    Burnsville, MN
    Toshiba with 2gb of RAM? How old is this thing? I bet that thing can't even handle MS Word, haha! I would say that's your bottleneck.
     
    InCasinoOut and chopeth like this.
  9. chopeth

    chopeth SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    409
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Andalucía
    ^10 years.

    I have a good tone now except that sometimes I hear like a strong hiss that makes company to everything I play in my guitar, a moment later it vanishes, and then coming again after a minute or two.

    Anyone knows why?
     
  10. zarg

    zarg guitar and computer nerd

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    is it a trial version? or not registered? usually they but occasional noise or quietness in to get you to buy a copy.
     
    chopeth likes this.
  11. rahnvu

    rahnvu SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Location:
    Norway
    All demos either hiss, mute at certain intervals or time out after 15 mins (like th3).
     
    chopeth likes this.
  12. chopeth

    chopeth SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    409
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Andalucía
    Ok, I finally made amplitube work with cubase, my problem now is that I don't know how to make the patch in amplitube sound while recording. I can listen to it applied to the track after it, but not at the same time. I'm sure it's a noob thing but I can't figure it out.
     
  13. rahnvu

    rahnvu SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Location:
    Norway
    Its in settings or preferences somewhere. Look for monitoring and choose what you prefer. Manual, active while recording or always on (i think?)
     

Share This Page