UK Student Extradited to US for Piracy

Discussion in 'Politics & Current Events' started by Philligan, Mar 22, 2012.

1. Philligan

Philligan The White-Knuckler Contributor

2. Explorer

Explorer He seldomly knows...

Formerly from Cucaramacatacatirimilcote...
    I'm not sure I understand the story stating that linking is legal in the UK, but that the person was in jail. What was he in jail for? Had he violated any UK laws?

Somehow, I'm feeling like the news story omitted a few details to make a point. What's missing?

3. Necris

Necris Bonitis.

I'm going to second needing more details, although I am confused that someone who has never stepped foot in the United States is being extradited here, but then again I have no working knowledge of extradition laws for either country involved.

4. pink freud

pink freud SS.org Regular

I'm guessing we two countries have a treaty stating that we will respect each others copyrights and people caught breaking them will be subject to charges in whichever respective country the copyright resides in.

5. Explorer

That still doesn't explain why he's already in jail. They wouldn't stick him in a UK prison for violating a foreign law.

----

One day, when we were reading the morning paper, I noticed a story about some homeless people who had started a fire in a house and had burned to death in the night. I was struck by the photos of the people from while they were alive... and wondered where the photos of the homeless had come from. My girlfriend was upset that I wasn't more sympathetic about their trying to stay warm.

Doing a little digging, I found out they were photos from when the people had variously been arrested for crimes both large and small, including violent crimes, including drug crimes (not simple possession).

My girlfriend apologized to me for having been suspicious of there being more to the story... but only after I showed how much more there was. *laugh*

6. C2Aye

C2Aye has the groove.