Trying to learn the most cookie cutter metal/shred soloing, what bands should I look at?

Discussion in 'Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques' started by Zalbu, Dec 15, 2017.

1. Zalbu

Zalbu More time than skill

I've been playing guitar for about 10 years now but I've been neglecting practice a lot, and especially my lead playing, so I want to start from the basics when it comes to lead playing.

I'm looking for the absolute most cookie cutter metal/shred guitar soloing that's out there so I can take those patterns, arpeggios, licks and stuff like that and build upon them and use in my own playing and improvisation.

I listen to a ton of different genres now compared to when I started playing guitar and the guitar based music I do listen to is mostly more complex prog metal, and I'm not nearly at the level where I can emulate guys like John Petrucci, so I need some suggestions for some more straightforward bands.

I've completely forget what bands or guitarists use this kind of cookie cutter playing that I used to listen to all the time while growing up, outside of bands like Iron Maiden or Metallica, so do anybody have some recommendations for good bands or resources to study the basics of metal soloing?

The only examples I can think of are songs like Fade to Black or The Trooper that uses patterns that sound more complex than they actually are, like this or this.

2. Eptaceros

Eptaceros Wayfarer Contributor

Anything Children of Bodom

3. CerealKiller

CerealKiller SS.org Regular

Paul Gilbert's Racer X solos have all the 3-note-per-string patterns covered, as well as string-skipping arpeggios and tons of licks in general. Other than being crazy fast they are relatively straightforward.

Zalbu likes this.
  4. Mathemagician

Mathemagician SS.org Regular

I was literally going to say Dream Theater until I read your post. SO much can just be played slowly then sped up with a click.