Tru-oil finish on strat replacement neck

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by NikolajBak, Nov 9, 2017.

1. NikolajBak

NikolajBak SS.org Regular

Hi guys.
    I'm getting a new neck for my cheap-ass strat copy, as the trussrod adjustment hole is broken.
    The neck is maple with a wenge fretboard, and it Is from a local dealer, so it's not an ultra cheap replacement, but still it's not fender.
    I want to do a tru-oil finish, as It comes unfinished, but I have never done it before.
    And my question is this: Do I need to sand the back of the neck before I apply the finish? I know it's unfinished, but still.
    What are your experience with replacement necks?

2. LiveOVErdrive

LiveOVErdrive SS.org Regular

It's going to depend on what the surface of the wood is like when it gets to you, but I would plan on sanding it at least up to 220 grit when you get it. Maybe 320.

Probably it will be in good enough shape that you can just prep sand lightly with 220 and call it a day.

3. Lemonbaby

Lemonbaby SS.org Regular

If the neck is raw, there shouldn't be the need to sand it back unless you're not happy with the feel of the surface or see scratches from the last sanding run in the factory. Those will get a lot more visible once you apply a finish. You can generally apply the TruOil layers with a fine sanding (soft)pad (400 or above)...

4. KnightBrolaire

KnightBrolaire 8 string hoarder

yeah if they didn't sand it then I'd sand it at least to 400 grit or so. the couple of warmoth necks i've bought didn't even need to be sanded since they hit em with at least 800 grit or so, and I'm not very picky about the feel of my necks.

5. pondman

pondman Build Whore. Contributor

I'd oil it after sanding with 600 then 1200 ( that's just my preference). Give it about 7 or 8 coats (or even more) then finish with 1200 and polish if you want it glossy. The finish will help to avoid any Wenge splinters getting into your mitts

6. LiveOVErdrive