Tried a Mesa Boogie Mark V today, and now I need advice.

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by Omen, Nov 29, 2017.

1. Omen

Omen SS.org Regular

A friend of a friend is selling his Mesa Boogie Mark V, and he was kind enough to let me play it for a bit today. Holy hell what an amp. This puts me in a dilemma though, and I would like some advice from you guys. I'll explain my situation as best as I can.

I am a hobby musician. I play bass in a band and we play live semi-regularly on smaller avenues. Nothing that generate any money though. I got a decent bass rig that fulfills my needs.

The heart of my hobby is what I do in my bedroom however (giggity). I write and play a lot of my own, mostly guitar. Guitar was also were I started musically. Until now, GuitarPro has served as my main platform for writing and a Roland MicroCube as my main amplifier. I have for a long time wanted an upgrade though, and to actually start recording some of my stuff. I was pretty set on a Kemper actually, as it would offer a few nifty features that conventional amps does not.

But that Mesa Boogie really did blow my mind. And now I need to put the cards on the table and see which deck is the fattest. Also, I would get the Mesa with cab to the same price as a PKA.

So:
    The Mesa fills my sonic needs, no doubt about it. What it can't do however is stereo. I would need an external power amp for that and I have no idea how much a comparable would cost. The Mesa can't double as a di/reamp-box either, so I would need moar gear to record. Especially if I want to do silent recording.

F*ck the time ran away. I might update this thread after work. Some of you might have been in a similar situation. Any insight, thoughts and cold economic calculation is welcome.

Cheers

2. KnightBrolaire

KnightBrolaire 8 string hoarder

kemper. with mark v profiles you can have your cake and eat it too.

3. angl2k

angl2k SS.org Regular