Tips on success

Discussion in 'Lifestyle, Health, Fitness & Food' started by Oogadee Boogadee, May 19, 2006.

1. Oogadee Boogadee

Oogadee Boogadee ss.orggy biscuit Forum MVP

I'm so burnt out on fitness right now.... the industry, that is.....

I've been a personal trainer since 2000 and have worked in managing fitness centers to different degrees since 2001.... and sadly, i don't have much of a desire to browse the H&F section.....

but given my career, I figured I'd at least blabber on about something b/c I should at least contribute something.....

I mostly deal with folks (ladies) who want to lose weight, so that's where my head is most fresh, but I'll try to mention the strength / body building / cardio vascular components as well.

first, the key to weight loss:
    do more, eat less.

it's that simple.

let's say you sleep 6 hours. you have 18 to spare, with 1 hour devoted to exercise. you have 18 hours to burn calories and eat smart, or be a lazy f*ck and eat like a dumbass w/o common sense.

Stand in the office, take the stairs, walk in the parking lot, stand in front of the tv, --- burn as much calories as possible.

Eat right and eat early

never get "full"

save half your dinner for tomorrow's breakfast/lunch.

Minimize your carbs.

maximize your protein intake so that your body doesn't breakdown muscle to replace the missing carbs (make it convert your ingested proteins).

lift weights to avoid muscle loss

lift weights to gain calorie-burning tissues (muscle)

lift weights so you wont be a pansie-ass

don't pay attention to the "fat-burning" zone (heart rate monitors).

Train like that athlete that has the body-type you want (want to look like a sprinter, train like one. Like a marathoner? train like one. Bodies are the result of training).