Thinking of switching to Bass.. 6 strings?

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by 70Seven, Nov 28, 2017.

1. 70Seven

70Seven Ibanez Foerever!!!

Hello.

So I've been a guitarist since I was 14, I'm now 37.. Always have been a Metal Rhythm guitar player. I'm pretty good, but not amazing.. I've been unable to play for the last year and a half due to carpel tunnel syndrome, doctor wants me away from guitar at all cost. Looks like I'll be having surgery sometime next year.

Now I was thinking once the surgery is over and I get back into guitar I'd like to buy a new guitar to mark my "return" to playing. But now I'm thinking of maybe switching to Bass. I always loved the Bass and I'm thinking maybe it will be a new challenge. I feel like I've plateaued on guitar and was just playing riffs over and over, rarely learning new songs anymore. And Since I love playing Rhythm guitar, well bass is all about the Rhythm.

Now, my question, Would a 6 String be too much for a guy that only played Bass a few times? I feel like my fretting hand is well developed, but I'll have to work on my "picking" hand..

2. stevexc

stevexc Laura Like Butter

I think going straight to 6 would be fine! Just keep in mind that the intervals between the strings are different than guitar - 6-string bass is BEADGC whereas guitar in B would be BEADF#B. Just be aware of that and you should be fine!

3. bostjan

bostjan MicroMetal Contributor

Bass playing is a different mindset than guitar playing, but either way, I don't think six strings would be much of a problem. My only sort of concern would be ergonomics. Personally, I find a six string bass neck comfortable, but many find it too wide. It's a lot wider than a six string guitar neck, even significantly wider than a seven string guitar neck. If width isn't an issue, though, go for it.

4. Mwoit

Mwoit Lifted By Skin

Not at all. You can start on any number of strings really.