The Impulse FAQ/Tutorial Thread

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by FourFour, Feb 27, 2009.

  1. Inazone

    Inazone SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    VST is the format that most DAWs (see below) use for plug-ins. Not all DAWs use VST; Pro Tools uses RTAS format, and some DAWs use AU format. On a Windows PC, you will have a VST folder, usually somewhere within Program Files. A company called Steinberg actually came up with the technology, so it's probably C:\Program Files\Steinberg\VST Plugins\ or something like that. I can't be sure because I'm at work and this PC of course doesn't have those folders. In any case, most DAWs point to that location by default, and have a menu system for adding VST plug-ins to audio tracks.

    DAW = digital audio workstation, such as Sonar, Cubase, Reaper, etc. A lot of plug-ins also work as stand-alone applications in case your DAW doesn't allow external plug-ins. For example, POD Farm and Amplitube can be run as stand-alone apps "in front of" your DAW. As I mentioned above, some (such as Pro Tools) use a different plug-in format, but some like Propellerhead Record don't use plug-ins other than what is built into the DAW.
     
  2. MusicMetalHead

    MusicMetalHead P4

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Alma Center
    Oh wow. That was a while ago. I've got all that working now. Just need to get a preamp or my dist pedal back so my signal isnt crap and I'll be set to go. Had some recordings done but no signal boosting so it sounded like rotten ass cakes
     
  3. sevenstringj

    sevenstringj Banned

    Messages:
    3,061
    Likes Received:
    230
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    ny
    Reaper now comes with a convolution reverb plugin! It's in the 64 bit beta version.
     
  4. GATA4

    GATA4 Banned

    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    anyone have experience with keFIR taking up a shitload of CPU? I turn it off and I'm at like 3, then I turn it on and I'm at like 35....is that normal?

    EDIT - just wanted to say that impulses kick MASSIVE ass. and thank you so much OP for this thread. it's been very helpful :)
     
  5. JamesM

    JamesM The Armada

    Messages:
    7,488
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    Convolution reverbs are inherently very high system consuming functions. Always have been, there is little you can do. I've heard of lighter plugins, but nothing really does the trick. Gotta have that CPU power.
     
    GATA4 likes this.
  6. skattabrain

    skattabrain slow and low

    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    Methuen MA
  7. GATA4

    GATA4 Banned

    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    Aye aye. I guess that's how it goes. Thanks for clearing it up man :). I'm mixing on a little laptop right now so, yeah, I need some more CPU power down the line :lol:.
     
  8. ALAN_C

    ALAN_C SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    87
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    where can i find for mac user ? i already dowload the Lernvall Audio , but it's" dll "file.

    can not open it . Still have others you guys are suggest ?

    about my gear is using POD and garageband . how can i use the impulse ?

    i'm new for this ,sorry .
     
  9. JamesM

    JamesM The Armada

    Messages:
    7,488
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    I use Altiverb 6.
     
  10. Tree

    Tree Bald Bear

    Messages:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    208
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I'm having a completely retarded problem with Recabinet and Boogex.
    In Nuendo :)lol:) I have my guitars quad-tracked 100/80 left and right, but for whatever reason, my guitar signals become inaudible when panned to the right. It slowly starts killing the signal more and more, until POOF! All gone.

    Help would be greatly appreciated!

    Edit: I half resolved the issue. Though I still have no clue as to why it was killing the right signal. Either way, sound has been achieved. :yesway:
     
  11. Lorcan Ward

    Lorcan Ward 7slinger Contributor

    Messages:
    4,345
    Likes Received:
    731
    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    Ireland
    LAConvolver for Mac - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com

    Copy the .component file into:
    Volume/library/audio/plug-ins/components

    Next time you open your DAW you will be able to select it as a plug-in. It can cause your projects to crash when you drag it to a new channel strip and randomly when you open a project but it does the job. I can't wait for Recabinet 3 to come out.
     
  12. armanikane

    armanikane SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Has anyone used impulses in a live environment yet? Excluding AxeFX...btw... Curious to know if it would be feasible to run my Vetta (direct)-->Interface In-->PT LE8-->Waves IR1-->impulse file-->Interface Out-->DI-->FOH with little to no latency??? And would that be more of a processor issue or a plugin issue?
     
  13. JamesM

    JamesM The Armada

    Messages:
    7,488
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    ^Computer run systems are always very unreliable, but I don't see why it couldn't be done. It just doesn't seems worth it, I'd personally run a Palmer DI box instead. But that's just me.
     
  14. armanikane

    armanikane SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I'm sure they aren't the most reliable setup in the world *right now* but theoretically, in a perfect world, that should work no? I just cant help but think that if you had a hybrid drum kit Acoustic (real cymbals, hi hat)/Electric (triggered mesh heads) running SD2 direct into the FOH with guitar heads going through cab impulses running in whichever DAW you choose would be an incredible live setup and amazing sounding....
     
  15. JamesM

    JamesM The Armada

    Messages:
    7,488
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    I gigged an entire mini-tour with exactly what you describe. And no, it isn't incredible. It's awful. Unreliable, too many variables, and just sucks.
     
  16. armanikane

    armanikane SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    What was the most unreliable aspect of that setup?
     
  17. JamesM

    JamesM The Armada

    Messages:
    7,488
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    Computers like to do whatever the fuck they want to do when they want to do it.
     
  18. Ben.Last

    Ben.Last Formerly Lern2Swim

    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I don't think saying they're ALWAYS unreliable is true. Is a higher level of redundancy needed to compensate for the fact that everything is running through a very complicated "central hub"? Yes. Is a reliable computer run system possible? Yes. See NIN.
     
  19. JamesM

    JamesM The Armada

    Messages:
    7,488
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    ^Me having sex with Jessica Alba is also possible. Likely? Nah.
     
  20. the unbearable

    the unbearable doesn't djent, sorry

    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Location:
    #3 most dangerous city in the U.S.... makes you fe
    I started this as its own thread and nobody cared. Should've put it here in the first place..

    Low cpu ir loader... Has anyone else seen this? <hr style="color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: rgb(0, 0, 0);" size="1"> LiquidSonics - Reverberate LE | Convolution Reverb for PC


    LiquidSonics' Reverberate LE is a highly efficient convolution reverb audio processor without the modulation or true stereo capabilities of Reverberate. It is available in a standard CPU edition and a version taking advantage of NVIDIA CUDA for the main convolution processing tasks reducing CPU usage where a G80* and above compatible card is found in the system.
    Features and Specifications:


    • Stereo convolution reverb
    • Zero latency CPU edition (or up to 8192 samples for lower CPU usage)
    • Low latency GPU edition (512 - 8192 samples delay)
    • Wav, Aiff and Flac support
    • ADSHR envelopes
    • 50%-150% stretch
    • Double oversampled IR-EQ
    • Pre-delay up to 500ms
    • GPU Edition utilises the power of NVIDIA CUDA
     

Share This Page