The Impulse FAQ/Tutorial Thread

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by FourFour, Feb 27, 2009.

  1. Drow Swordsman

    Drow Swordsman SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    College Park, MD
    This may seem like a silly question, but I was thinking about getting the Pod Farm upgrade for my podxt, would that be compatible with impulses?

    I figure in this combination, I could not only change my cab/mic combos with impulses through my DAW, but my tone too.
     
  2. FourFour

    FourFour 4/4

    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    You're welcome, cgrady.:yesway:

    Drow Swordsman- Yes it would work. Just make sure the cab sim in Podfarm is turned off.
     
  3. MF_Kitten

    MF_Kitten Set up us the bomb

    Messages:
    11,332
    Likes Received:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Kopervik, Norway
    i have no idea where to find the damn cooler tower impulse again, can´t remember what i searched for :scratch:
     
  4. newamerikangospel

    newamerikangospel Tonight.......you

    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    207
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    upload it man! If you have it on your PC, no need to try to find it on the internet!
     
  5. Jak3

    Jak3 Banned

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Ya is there a way to use an impulse live, im trying to tweak but im getting tired of recording with no cab then listening with impulse then tweaking to my recordings over and over and over.
     
  6. Karnidge

    Karnidge SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    same. bump
     
  7. theunforgiven246

    theunforgiven246 BEHOLD KLUMPAMUS PRIME!

    Messages:
    1,497
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Location:
    Ohio
    I made a thread about impulses a long time ago but I like yours better cause you did pictures! Good job! I guess when I made mine, impulses weren't as popular here as they are now. Impulses are fun as hell!
     
  8. Jak3

    Jak3 Banned

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
  9. FourFour

    FourFour 4/4

    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    Thanks John.

    Jak3 and Karnidge- I'm just a dumbass metalhead so I'm not too sure about using impulses live.

    But the Axe-fx and Revalver III can use impulses live. You will probably need to use a laptop and run revalver through it. Axe-fx is hardware so yea, just plug it into a PA or something. You will need to convert the wav. files into the Axe-fx format first.

    There's probably some way to run it in your DAW live, let's wait for the experts to chime in.

    Jak3- your tone is quite good man. A bit grainy and minor fuzz issue, aside from that maybe boost the mids a little to give it some clarity. It is a bit too bassy/woofy but I think its more the bass guitar so yea. Goodwork.:yesway:
     
  10. Jak3

    Jak3 Banned

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Thanks, i was thinking the same thing about the fuzzyness, i just got a bass too soo.. prob got it to loud in the mix.

    Is the fuzz a normal problem with these impulses, ive tried a ton and they all seem a bit fuzzy?
     
  11. FourFour

    FourFour 4/4

    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    Hey sorry for the late reply man.

    The fuzz might be coming from your pre-amp signal. Try lowering your presence and gain.

    Although I find that some impulses are just fizzy like hell, you can eq out the fizz most of the time.
     
  12. sakeido

    sakeido Contributor

    Messages:
    6,660
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary AB
    My settings.. sorry it took so long.
    impulse - Recabinet Ghandi 4x12 (mesa oversize) EL34, cap 0.5" SM57. Remember tone to zero and dry to infinite both pre and post impulse so your crap pre-impulse sound doesn't bleed through.

    equalizer - I used to use Waves Q6. Now I use Hydratone and a Q2.
    waves Q6 - high pass 80hz, low pass 11,500hz. 14dB boost Q about 1.0 at 6000hz. -1.5dB cut Q 2.0 at 240hz.
    Hydratone - using all USA models on all bands and master. Basically the same EQ settings except the treble boost is 9dB instead of 14 and I use the heat knob to add some sizzle. Then I run into the Waves Q2 just to high pass and low pass.

    but the secret sauce of a good guitar tone is an awesome bass tone ;) I recommend the Ampeg VST

    If your interface supports it, you can set up monitoring inside your DAW. So instead of only hearing the raw signal, you'd hear the processed one. Unfortunately it varies from DAW to DAW, interface to interface, on how exactly you need to set things up.. with my old Edirol UA-25 in Cubase SX3, all I had to do was uncheck the direct monitoring box in my device setup.
     
  13. timothydog76

    timothydog76 Tandjentian

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Hello there,

    I first heard about cabinet impulses a little over a year ago but didn't really get to try it until recently. I downloaded a bunch of free impulses but also purchased the Recabinet library. For 40 bucks, it is a steal and there are supposed to be a couple big free upgrades soon. The i5 and D6 mic's sound great. You can get an UNBELIEVABLY chunky sound with the D6 after applying some mid-low scooping in EQ.

    I'm running my guitar through my ENGL Powerball preamp, out through the FX send, into my Mackie 802-VLZ3 mixer and then into my DAW PC via M-Audio Delta 24/96. It can't be said enough: keep your cabinet plugged into the amp to prevent damage!

    I'm running Sonar 7PE and started working with Perfect Space which is really nice but has a very large amount of lag when doing input monitoring. I plan on trying one of the free ones this weekend with no lag. At the very least, I will use the lag-free plugin to monitor my guitars while recording so I don't have to listen to an awful guitar sound coming directly out of the preamp. When mixing, I will probably switch back to Perfect Space.
     
  14. FourFour

    FourFour 4/4

    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    Nice one, Sakeido! Are those settings for your Engl?

    Cool info Tim, thanks for sharing.
     
  15. timothydog76

    timothydog76 Tandjentian

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Just reporting back. Last night I tried real time input monitoring using keFIR. Worked like a charm! I'm looking forward to laying some tracks down soon.
     
  16. sakeido

    sakeido Contributor

    Messages:
    6,660
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary AB
    Yes those are the very same settings I used for Requited. The short mix test I recently posted I used slightly different settings but I didn't think they were an improvement so I'm going back to what I had before.
    I forgot to mention that using the Hydratone I don't have the cut in the lows.. only with the Waves Q6 do I do that.
     
  17. AeonSolus

    AeonSolus DO CEO / RHLC ©

    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    426
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    same thing here, it's so great!, you can ever hear the "distortion" peak that the mic naturally gives, it's soooo amazing!
     
  18. TimothyLeary

    TimothyLeary Tune in, Drop out

    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    Portugal
    I want to use impulse but im in mac and the laconvolver that has been said here, doesn't work in cubase because is only AU not VST. So if anyone have another suggestion, please tell here!!

    Thank
     
  19. HANIAK

    HANIAK 7 string addict

    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Oporto, PT
    :bump:
    This thread should be stickied!
     
  20. -K4G-

    -K4G- Go Auckland Blues!

    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    :agreed:

    Mods?
     

Share This Page