[Tech] How to Program Drums

Discussion in 'The Sevenstring.org Workbench' started by Ryan, Mar 15, 2007.

  1. SHRC7

    SHRC7 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney
    I know this guide works for cubase but does it also work for the program that comes with the line 6 ux1?
     
  2. Triple7

    Triple7 The Decepticon

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    373
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    Yorktown,NY
    Anyone know about programming drums in Reaper? I don't have Superior 2.0 yet but I plan on getting it soon with the DKFH, so I figured I would start asking questions now.
     
  3. op1e

    op1e Blood_Lust:Unlimited

    Messages:
    2,298
    Likes Received:
    116
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    Northeast Ohio
    Can this work in Audition 3.0? I neither have nor like Cubase.
     
  4. dmlinger

    dmlinger SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    does anyone know how i can do this same format of programming (click on time grid to place hits for each kit piece) in Pro Tools.

    I just got Superior 2 and am running Pro Tools 7.4 LE on OS 10.5.8

    thanks
     
  5. Krissægrim

    Krissægrim SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Location:
    NE
    Where exactly can I get Cubase sx3? A google search didn't get me very far...
     
  6. signalgrey

    signalgrey Ambiente Savante

    Messages:
    3,774
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Location:
    Somerville, MA (formerly Seoul)
    they are up to cubase 5 thats probably why!

    i would recommend logic though.
     
  7. Indigo

    Indigo SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    with cubase five.. is this similar?
     
  8. Metalus

    Metalus JP BFR Whore

    Messages:
    2,211
    Likes Received:
    237
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Same here. I just got the program but would love a headstart from my fellow SS members:hbang:
     
  9. Santuzzo

    Santuzzo SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    4,643
    Likes Received:
    552
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Awesome thread!

    I have EZDrummer and SD 2.0 but at this point I find SD2.0 too difficult still, I can only use it if I use the presets that come with it. Until I learn how to use it and process a drumkit to make it sound the way I want it to, EZDrummer is a good alternative.
     
  10. black_anther

    black_anther SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Yes it most certainly does, I used it with Ableton first and then switched to Cubase.

    Has anybody worked out how to do cymbal chokes using this method?

    The only way I've managed to do it in my recordings is to put the cymbals on a separate audio track and then delete the section of the wave by inserting a silence after the cymbal hit.
     
  11. Winspear

    Winspear Tom Winspear Vendor

    Messages:
    10,536
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, U.K
    What drums are you using? If cymbal chokes are available, they are usually a different 'drum' (different MIDI key) e.g 55 = splash 56 = splash choke (this is not true)
     
  12. zeal0us

    zeal0us InstruMentalHead

    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    Yup.

    As far as I understand, to encompass all possible hits you need to (somehow) assign them via a new drum map.


    Does anyone know how to change the grid beat divisions for different time signatures? I have a part in 6/4, but if I change the time sig. on the transport bar, the grid divisions still remain 4 per beat. I need 6 divisions per beat.

    Is the only way to do this by turning snap off and manually inserting every note approximately?

    EDIT: I did it manually anyway... bleh :cond:
     
  13. black_anther

    black_anther SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    I pre-program all my drum loops in Guitar Pro before I bring them into Cubase. When I drop the midi track in all the time signature and tempo changes are automatically picked up for me.

    Thanks for that EtherealEntity, that's helped me a lot. It's confusing cos they weren't labelled correctly in the default drum map (or whatever it's called). I didn't think there'd be an separate note for them because when I program them in guitar pro all I do is put two notes on the cymbal together but with the second one's dynamic set to dead quiet (ppp button). I think the problem is in Cubase or EZDrummer is that it doesn't cancel the previous cymbal hit when two are played in a row. That make sense?
     
  14. Kapee

    Kapee ss.org Master

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Seinäjoki
  15. FMG

    FMG SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Location:
    UK, Cambridgeshire
    I'd like to bring this up again, I've heard tons og guys on this forum discussing how they EQ'd and compressed their snare, but no one has addressed how to separate each drum onto a separate track. HELP!
     
  16. black_anther

    black_anther SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    The way I do it is using the mixer on the EZDrummer display, there you can select the track you want to put each drum mic on.

    If you look at the image below, where it says Trk 1 on the Output line, you can click these and select different tracks.
    [​IMG]

    Once that's done (not sure if this is the best way mind), I do an audio mixdown per drum track, if you use this screenshot as a reference (sorry I don't have cubase where I am right now so had to make the best out of Google Images). Where you have the VST Instrument Channels menu you can select the track you want to export. I export it to a WAV and then import as a new audio track and do all my eqing etc on that.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. ManEatSoul

    ManEatSoul Sir McTastyPants

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Location:
    Fayetteville, WV
    Awesome work! Thanks!! :hbang:
     
  18. Mn3mic

    Mn3mic SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Too bad I was not aware of this tutorial earlier, I had to google most of this stuff one by one...

    Btw, can anyone explain to me when to use a rim tom and when to use a normal tom.
    I use both SSD and AD but I can't figure out what to do with these two.

    I mean, when I make a normal tom fill it sounds good but not as aggressive as a rim tom fill, but after a certain speed of the fill it sounds way to "unreal"...

    I like the way the toms sound on for ex. Acacia Strains Woodworm, they all sound to me like rim toms, not regular toms (like Rareform by After The Burial).

    Anyone have an idea?
     
  19. Ahmet

    Ahmet SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Good work!
     
  20. lastninja

    lastninja SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Location:
    Mel Burns, Australia
    I would recommend a) use a free program Stomper Hyperion to make some insane drum samples

    b) find or take samples of metal drums (there are actually commercially available sound packs just for metal drums)

    c) use an easy program to start like fruity loops, or way better, Ableton live

    ableton is a great program for beginners and very quick results. Great for tempo shifts too.
     

Share This Page