[Tech] How to Program Drums

Discussion in 'The Sevenstring.org Workbench' started by Ryan, Mar 15, 2007.

  1. crudus

    crudus SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    London
    Thx for great tutorial!!

    I'm looking for a different drum editor than that in Cubase.
    As a guitarist I find it to diffcult to programm drumms with it. Does enybody know a substitute for it? Maybe as VST or plugin?


     
  2. mindstorm

    mindstorm SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    87
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Thurso, Scotland
    hey

    i just got ezdrummer, and it's taking a ridiculously long time to load everything, how long does it take you guys?
     
  3. crudus

    crudus SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    London
    Ezdrummer - DFH - default set - on Intel Core 2 CPU, 1,8 GHz, 1GB RAM, HDD 5400-RPM - it's about 40 seconds.

    Still looking for (midi) drumms editor. Easier way than putting dots on keyboard. Plssss
     
  4. Ryan

    Ryan SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,000
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    It should be getting done under a minute with a moderate computer.
     
  5. drmosh

    drmosh Sir Paul of the Mosh Contributor

    Messages:
    4,601
    Likes Received:
    487
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    There isn't really an easier way. Maybe breaking beats up into 1 bar sections and programming them bit by bit will help you understand it better.
    I always start with section that is as long as the riff I want to program my drums for, then work on getting the basic drums down for that, then move to the next riff etc. until the song is done.
    Then I go back and add cymbal hits, fills, play with velocities and all that fun. Don't clog your brain with those things at the beginning but work on getting a basic beat down for each section of your song.

    The easiest way of course is to play the drums with a midi drumset as best you can, then quantise it and edit out any mistakes. But as with everything, keep working at it and it gets easier. I does help having knowledge of how to play the drums too
     
  6. Ryan

    Ryan SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,000
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Learning to use Cubase's MIDI Drum Editor is probably a good idea. It's pretty much the most comprehensive editor out there, and others wont differ too much from the beat/grid layout. A good starting point for learning where to place beats to make the patterns you want would be some simpler sequencers like PCDrummer. But i think youll be coming back to Cubase after you learn that :lol:
     
  7. kmanick

    kmanick Contributor

    Messages:
    5,820
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    BOSTON
    thanks! I just got all this stuff this week so this is really helpful
    (although Cubase keeps crashing on me)
     
  8. Ryan

    Ryan SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,000
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    You're welcome. ;D
     
  9. thedonutman

    thedonutman SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    Question: anyone else have trouble getting decent snare sounds with the DFH kit? The snare sounds more like a crack/snap and gets lost in the mix.
     
  10. lundvall

    lundvall SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    Great tutorial. I've never used the GM map before, much easier now than just hitting random notes on the synth!
     
  11. Andrew

    Andrew SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    just a question.. probably an easy fix. how come i'm hearing piano keys when i enter drums?
     
  12. crudus

    crudus SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    London
    What software do You use ?
    In Nuendo/Cubase on Midi-Track properies You have to set 'midi out' mapping. (Of course, if You have added some VST drums instrument first.)
    Probably You've mapped default windows midi synthesizer (piano)
     
  13. TroelsRasmussen

    TroelsRasmussen SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Odense, Denmark
    Great post.

    By the way - anyone who knows how to program drum in pro tools???
     
  14. drmosh

    drmosh Sir Paul of the Mosh Contributor

    Messages:
    4,601
    Likes Received:
    487
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    I'm pretty sure it tells you in the manual
     
  15. TroelsRasmussen

    TroelsRasmussen SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Odense, Denmark
    Can't figure it out since i don't have any experience with VST etc..

    Anyone who knows some good manuals on the internet?
     
  16. alecisonfire

    alecisonfire SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Location:
    nutley, nj
    awesome guide dude. thanks
     
  17. ryzorzen

    ryzorzen shake and bake!

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    im having troubles getting everything on to it's own individual track the way your guide shows. im running cubase 4 LE so the daw interface is a little different. right now im programming everything under one instrument track and doing a cut/paste for each individual sound source to their own instrument track. i know theres a better way, cubase le is limited to 48 tracks i believe so it adds up fast. helpz!!
     
  18. Andrew

    Andrew SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Is there different ways to alter the sound of the drums besides the Mixer in DFH and Velocities? /newb question

    "Hide it all again and look at the VST sub tracks under the main MIDI track. You can add curve EQs and all kinds of verbs/comps to that to make your drums own everyone elses." kinda confused.
     
  19. gaunten

    gaunten WUUUUAAAAAAAAH!!!

    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    VĂ„xtorp Sweden
    great stuff, I've managed to make some nice beatz thanks to this, but now I have some problems, at first when I installed everything, I heard what kind of drum or cymbal I was clicking on everytime, but after some day I accidentaly managed to change something so I had to press play to see what I had done, no biggie, because I found it rather annoying anyways...
    but, some days ago I didn't have my pod x3 connected for some reason (which I always have otherwise) and when I started cubase it did some buffer check or whatever, and since then, regardless if I use my computer soundcard, or the x3 I can't hear the drums in cubase at all, so I have to make beats, export them and then listen to them. and that's just to much of a hassle..

    soo, whaddya think I should do, reinstall everything, or do I just need to adjust some settings?

    Edit: nevermind, I didn't find anything, so I reinstalled Cubase, and voila, it works again :O)
     
  20. SHRC7

    SHRC7 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney
    I know this guide works for cubase but does it also work for the program that comes with the line 6 ux1?
     

Share This Page