[Tech] How to Program Drums

Discussion in 'The Sevenstring.org Workbench' started by Ryan, Mar 15, 2007.

  1. forelander

    forelander you fail me

    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    There's no way to do what I asked then?
     
  2. TomAwesome

    TomAwesome I LIKE JUICE!!!

    Messages:
    10,137
    Likes Received:
    574
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    Not that I know of. Nik and I were asking about that several pages ago, and we never really got an answer either.
     
  3. mickytee

    mickytee SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    147
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    ???
    hey, im having two small little problems. im a complete n00b to all of this so sorry for my idiocy!

    1. how do i zoom out on the drum editor. i zoomed too far in and i dont know how to zoom out. i would be far more productive if i didnt have to keep scrolling right for each new beat!

    2. how do i set the left and right locators? when i try to export the beat as an audio mixdown, i get an error saying that i must set the left and right locators!

    i would be extremely greatful if someone could help me out
    thanks alot
    User01
     
  4. lurker

    lurker SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    1. Click on the triangle slider thingy in the bottom right hand corner of the drum editor screen or, easier way: Left click anywhere on the top band where it has your measures (1234,2234,3234,etc) and while your left click is held down move your cursor up on the screen.

    2. Select the pencil tool and click on the area mentioned above (1234,etc). Then drag the little triangles left and right. Make sure it colors in light blue and not in red. If its in red youll get an error if you try to mixdown!
     
  5. ultranoob

    ultranoob SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    34
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    asdf
    So I tried using the Cubase drum maps for DFHS in nuendo and got some crazy errors, best bet make your own maps for DFHS in nuendo?
     
  6. Oneiros

    Oneiros SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    Skopje, Macedonia
    i use ADDICTIVE DRUMS, i got them soon, way easier and better and faster to do than anything, and Ii think they got the best samples, dont eat too much RAM like DKFH, try them!!!
     
  7. 7 Strings of Hate

    7 Strings of Hate Mid-Level Asshole Contributor

    Messages:
    8,401
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    St.Louis USA
    i'v never messed with anything but fruity loops and i gotta say, this shit is ridiculusly complicated, i dont know how any of you guys understand it. what the hell is a drum map?
    so drum kit from hell is just an expansion pack for ez drummer, and ez drummer isnt even a program? its just a plug in for all of these recording programs basically? so in essence, if you really wanted to do this legit, this is like hundreds and hundreds of dollars in software right? i mean, you get the recording program which i assume cubase is like 200+ bucks, and ez drummer with drum kit from hell is like 300 together or something? so you guys spent like a fucking shit load on this, or did you all rip it off?
     
  8. TomAwesome

    TomAwesome I LIKE JUICE!!!

    Messages:
    10,137
    Likes Received:
    574
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    It's not that bad, really. It's just MIDI. The drum map just shows you which MIDI notes apply to which drums.
     
  9. 7 Strings of Hate

    7 Strings of Hate Mid-Level Asshole Contributor

    Messages:
    8,401
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    St.Louis USA
    i have no clue what the hell midi is, i mean, i'v been told before, but i still have no clue what it is, from what i surmize, basically its like in fruity loops when you say, put a snare sound up, your just replacing it with the spiffy version of a snare from the ezd, right?
     
  10. Desecrated

    Desecrated Guest

    I'm not trying to be rude here,. but if you open fruityloops and press F1 the manual will open. After reading it through You will most likely feel that FL studio is a very easy program to work with.
     
  11. 7 Strings of Hate

    7 Strings of Hate Mid-Level Asshole Contributor

    Messages:
    8,401
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    St.Louis USA
    well, dude, i didnt say i had a prob with fruity loops, its everything else i dont know about
     
  12. JJ Rodriguez

    JJ Rodriguez Contributor

    Messages:
    14,738
    Likes Received:
    1,350
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    I'm getting REALLY bad latency with dkfh, but I have a pretty nice computer so I'm sure it's not that. Is there any setting you can enable/disable to improve this? Also, any way to get the drums to go through my toneport and into the headphones I'm using to monitor with?
     
  13. exafro

    exafro SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    LI
    Set your Toneport as the primary playback device.
     
  14. JJ Rodriguez

    JJ Rodriguez Contributor

    Messages:
    14,738
    Likes Received:
    1,350
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    I figured that part out. Still getting horrible latency on the drums though :( It's so bad that I actually can't play along to them and record.
     
  15. Oneiros

    Oneiros SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    Skopje, Macedonia
    check the asio drivers and latency?

    Musical Instrument Digital Interface ;):eek:

    try mixdown them in audio, should work. I do that whenever my ram get full.
    every track of drums separate in audio mixdown than u can add some plugins and colour ;) and no latency!!!

    so I do this:

    record the drums in general midi, than do MIDI SPLIT into separate channels, than mix them one by one after selecting the best samples.
     
  16. 7 Strings of Hate

    7 Strings of Hate Mid-Level Asshole Contributor

    Messages:
    8,401
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    St.Louis USA
    help!! i'm getting caught up on step 8, the drum editor isnt an option for me, what the heck do i do?
     
  17. Ryan

    Ryan SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,000
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Right click on the track you made, and go to MIDI then see if drum editor is in there. If not, make sure you made you track as a MIDI track and not an audio track (wav).
     
  18. 7 Strings of Hate

    7 Strings of Hate Mid-Level Asshole Contributor

    Messages:
    8,401
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    St.Louis USA
    ah!, yea, i just for got to actually open the little grey midi box in the track, got it working now, thanks,

    and also, killer tutorial ryan, i would have taken a while to figure all that shit out for myself:)
     
  19. 7 Strings of Hate

    7 Strings of Hate Mid-Level Asshole Contributor

    Messages:
    8,401
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    St.Louis USA
    how do i use the stuff in the dkfh library thats in the screen that shows the drums?
     
  20. Ryan

    Ryan SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,000
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    drag n drop son lol

    -sent from Q9c
     

Share This Page