Switching instruments

Discussion in 'General Music Discussion' started by NKGP, Mar 23, 2011.

1. NKGP

NKGP SS.org Regular

Hi,

I'm 23 years old and I've been in two bands so far as guitarist.
    I'm graduating in a few months and I'm talking to some people to start a serious band this summer, but it seems as if there are no decent drummers around (or all good ones are taken).

So I was thinking, what if I started playing the drums. I've already written some material so it would be a lot faster to have a steady line up that way.

Are there any people who experienced something similar?
    Ever changed instruments?
    Am I too old to "start over"?

2. hxcdeathcore

hxcdeathcore SS.org Regular

No sir, I had almost the exact same situation. I have natural drum skills and could play better than a 1 year player could on my first try. After realizing that drums were my real instrument, I sold my amps, kept my guitars and pod, and got a drumset. Now I'm doing something I like better and am alot better at.

3. troyguitar

troyguitar SS.org Regular

I've been thinking about it, but it looks like we may have finally found a good drummer.

I still plan to buy an electronic kit to practice at home sometime in the next year or so, but the need is less immediate now.

4. Jogeta

Jogeta SS.org Regular

where would you guys start in terms of learning techniques?
    and what sort of gear would you start with?

5. Valknut

Valknut Banned