Superlead preamp build

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by jarnozz, Oct 11, 2017.

1. jarnozz

jarnozz Let´s Get Wasted!

Hi there!

I haven't been active on this forum for a while now. As far as I remember, there were some people interested in building amplifiers and electronics in general. I am an electrical engineer and work with digital electronics, embedded design and digital signal processing. A hobby of mine is analog design and music related gear in general! During my absence here I have made a few very cool projects. One of them is the Superlead preamp.

spoiler: I won't submit the schematic since it's an original design and I am designing an amplifier that uses this preamp design! Who knows what the future will bring.. I will explain why I made certain decisions and how I designed the preamp. When I talk about potentials it's about voltage. (boys will call it a voltage drop, men will call it a potential difference two points expresses in the unit of volts. My old professor said that phrase a lot..)

Let’s start with a little lesson in tube amplification in general. I will be using Merlin’s (aka the valvewizard) images to help explaining the subject. Calculations and values taken from graphs are not 100% correct but will work 100% of the time. I could give accurate calculations and formulas that will make your head spin. These are too difficult to explain and understand without knowledge in electrical engineering.

Let’s take a single stage 12AX7/ECC83 tube as an example.