Superior Drummer Q&A

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Winspear, Jan 18, 2011.

  1. Winspear

    Winspear Tom Winspear

    Messages:
    10,549
    Likes Received:
    1,179
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, U.K
    Okay..where are these meant to be installed? Installer didn't seem to work and I can't actually find where the already included presets are on my computer either.

    EDIT: Think I am using an older version, updating.
     
  2. Jakedudebro

    Jakedudebro SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Location:
    Saginaw, MI
    I'm having this same problem, but I know for a fact that I'm using the latest version, and the problem still persists. Any ideas?
     
  3. Opion

    Opion Sir Mattafer

    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Thirding in with this confusion - bought the download and there's no authorization process as usual with the Metal Foundry expansions and such. Helpppppp O.O
     
  4. Winspear

    Winspear Tom Winspear

    Messages:
    10,549
    Likes Received:
    1,179
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, U.K
    For those of you having problems - have you definately checked the Toontrack website and downloaded again? It's V2.2.3, and if you are using 64 bit it should say 64 bit next to the version. I thought I was fully updated because I had downloaded the most recent file on the Toontrack website. However, I redownloaded it and the content of the download had actually changed.

    The presets are Combined Presets from the Load/Save menu, and as far as I can tell do not give the option to load individal channels in the mixer.
     
  5. jameslabrie

    jameslabrie SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    First post!
    I bought the preset yesterday, but I can't get it in SD. It says it's an "unix"-file and I can't load it in the load/save window. Some advice would be appreciated, thanks!
     
  6. themike

    themike Chug Life

    Messages:
    3,257
    Likes Received:
    1,303
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Location:
    Long Island, NY

    Ut oh - looks like Dream Theater is going to be using Superior with Misha's presets on the next album :lol:
     
  7. jameslabrie

    jameslabrie SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    :hbang:
     
  8. jameslabrie

    jameslabrie SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    Seriously though, do I need to convert/open the unix-file somehow to get the .s20 files out from it?
     
  9. Jakedudebro

    Jakedudebro SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Location:
    Saginaw, MI
    Yeah, I'm running version 2.2.3 and the presets still won't show up. I've tried just about everything.
     
  10. jameslabrie

    jameslabrie SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    +1
     
  11. Winspear

    Winspear Tom Winspear

    Messages:
    10,549
    Likes Received:
    1,179
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, U.K
    I don't know what the unix file is. In my download I got an installer and a readme. The read me basically says just run the installer and it will put the files in the correct place. It worked for me once I was running the latest version of SD.

    For those of you who can't get the presets to show..sorry, I've no idea. I suggest going to the Toontrack forum.
     
  12. Jakedudebro

    Jakedudebro SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Location:
    Saginaw, MI
    Problem solved: it's not part of The Metal Foundry, it's part of the N.Y. Avatar.
     
    Winspear likes this.
  13. Opion

    Opion Sir Mattafer

    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I even tried installing v.2.2.3 and it still says v.2.2.1. Kinda strange, I've done all the uninstalling/reinstalling I can do. Even the support is no help...I downloaded the thrash/death packs in the same way with no problems at all. Fuck :/
     
  14. jameslabrie

    jameslabrie SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    I fixed it, I didn't realize I had not upgraded to 2.2.3 yet, that solved the problem. Thanks for trying to help anyways :yesway:
     
  15. Winspear

    Winspear Tom Winspear

    Messages:
    10,549
    Likes Received:
    1,179
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, U.K
    Maybe you need to relocate/update the plugin from your DAW. Maybe it's still seeing the old one somehow.
     
  16. PTP

    PTP SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Richmond
    Sometimes when I try to use Superior Drummer there's no sound at all. The volume bar in the DAW is moving but its just red instead of the normal spectrum of green to yellow to red. It's really annoying.
     
  17. clems6belio

    clems6belio Djentlemens :)

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    Bordeaux
    I've just bought the preset pack, it's an .exe file so I guess it's a patch.
    Install is automatic, but I CAN'T find the preset in Superior 2.0 ?
    What I have to do to load it ??
     
  18. Nakon14

    Nakon14 Smells like updog

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Location:
    MD
    @Clems6belio, make sure that you have the most recent update of Superior installed on your computer. That a problem a lot of people, myself included, have had with getting this to work but it's a pretty easy fix!
     
  19. clems6belio

    clems6belio Djentlemens :)

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    Bordeaux
    Thanks for your help. :)
    I was thinking that the preset works only with the most recent version.
    But, another question : Is this most recent version is the "Superior Drummer 2.0 Crossgrade" which cost roughtly 160€ ??
    This https://www.toontrack.com/products.asp?item=34 ??
    This isn't so pretty easy then :S
     
  20. CAPTAIN SARG

    CAPTAIN SARG SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Location:
    cape coral
    What do you use to program the drums? a Midi keyboard?
     

Share This Page