Sound quality: XLR vs. 6.3mm jack

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by I play music, Sep 10, 2018.

1. I play music

I play music SS.org Regular

I'm looking at preamps with cab sim (like Mooer Preamp Live) and multieffect units (NUX Cerberus, Mooer Black Truck). Some products have an XLR out but most don't.

I want to plug the thing directly into my Focusrite Scarlet interface.
    Would connected via XLR cable sound better than via normal instrument cable?

I wonder if XLR out is a feature that improves sound or something that does not matter to me.
    If I decide for a product without XLR out, do you think a DI-box would be good? If yes, how much should I invest or what should I look out for when buying a DI-box?

2. TedEH

TedEH Cromulent

I'm not an expert, so don't quote me on this, but I *think* this is how it would work: