So you want to show off your guitar? Learn to take proper pictures!

Discussion in 'Art, Media & Photography' started by ibanezcollector, Jan 13, 2014.

1. ibanezcollector

ibanezcollector Gear Junkie

Ok I am by no means a professional photographer but some of the pictures I see on here are horrific at best. So I thought I would make a simple guide on how to take a decent picture with some ideas and thoughts that would help us all.

This tutorial will consider you are using just a point and shoot camera no f stops, etc well go off this being completely on auto.

RULE #1 quit being lazy and at least crop your picture, some of us do visit the site on mobile phones and to have to wait 14 mins for your 100 meg 9000x8400 pixel image to show up is ridiculous. I find that 800x600 is more then big enough for forums if you want to keep a higher resolution picture for your own thats fine.

Ok now with that out of the way, the best thing you can do if your going to take a good picture is to think of a good background. Since most of our guitar shots usually just have part of the guitar in the picture the background can really make a guitar stand out. Think of cool locations, most of us drive while your driving scout cool locations, a park, a weathered picnic table, maybe a funky wall, use these for your pictures.

Example 1, in this picture the guitar is quite busy, its a swirl I painted, I wanted to make the colors pop so I found a nice wall, and moved a bunch of leaves from the ground in front of the wall. Creating a nice orange that contrasts and makes the blues pop like crazy.

[​IMG]

Example 2, is of a headstock, notice the stew mac catalog makes a great background LOL

[​IMG]

Example 3, is of a Ibanez I painted, this wall had some cool dark colors going on making the green leap off the screen.

[​IMG]