So I'm not happy with my Lenovo

Discussion in 'Computers, Electronics, IT & Gaming' started by GuitaristOfHell, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. GuitaristOfHell

    GuitaristOfHell The Optimist Prime.

    Messages:
    5,051
    Likes Received:
    713
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Location:
    US
    Not sure the model, but it cost me with tax $701 US dollers. 750GB HD and 6GB of Ram. It's just been sluggish with everything over the past month and I clean it and scan it daily. The only "big" program I am running on it is Itunes, Firefox, Word,Excel, and Powerpoint (All starter trails).

    Thinking about selling for a Mac. Opinions?
     
  2. Faine

    Faine Playing guitar.

    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    325
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    CT
  3. Blake1970

    Blake1970 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    250
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Location:
    Humble, TX
    We used Lenovo desktops/laptops for our work computers a couple of years ago and they suck. The lease ran out and we went back to Dell. I would suggest staying away from Lenovo.
     
  4. Faine

    Faine Playing guitar.

    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    325
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    My best bet is to just build my own computer then. Something that would be good for gaming, lots of tabs open, or recording.
     
  5. Customisbetter

    Customisbetter WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot Contributor

    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    788
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    Ok Im bored so I'll help. What you described has nothing to do with speed.

    Press Ctrl, Shfit and esc at the same time. Expand the processes tab as far as you can and post a screen shot. After that I can help you.
     
  6. synrgy

    synrgy Ya ya ya I am Lorde

    Messages:
    6,316
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    What's your OS?

    The following link is specifically for XP, but the process translates pretty well to other versions of Windows, so far as I know:
    How to use MSCONFIG in Windows XP: NetSquirrel.com

    Dollars to donuts, you've got a bunch of unnecessary processes running, hogging up your system resources.
     
  7. GuitaristOfHell

    GuitaristOfHell The Optimist Prime.

    Messages:
    5,051
    Likes Received:
    713
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Location:
    US
    [​IMG]
    Wouldn't embed for whatever reason.
     
  8. Vinchester

    Vinchester SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Try Advance SystemCare. It's free and you can clean your registry and stuff. Might help a bit!
     
  9. GuitaristOfHell

    GuitaristOfHell The Optimist Prime.

    Messages:
    5,051
    Likes Received:
    713
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Location:
    US
    Worth a shot, today it seems to be a bit better.
     
  10. Bekanor

    Bekanor Renegade Folk Hero

    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    436
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    92 processes?

    You need to kill some shit from startup to begin with.

    Start -> Run -> Type 'msconfig' -> Click the 'Startup' tab -> start unchecking some shit, for best results google the name of the process and find out what it is (no sense killing a piggyback process for something you use).

    When you're done it will prompt you for a restart, do so but click the "don't show this message again" checkbox.

    Short of that, a format is always a good way to get your compy back to day-one performance.
     
  11. Xaios

    Xaios Foolish Mortal Contributor

    Messages:
    9,694
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Nimbus III
    ^ Ditto. 92 processes is WAY too many. Mine only has 52, viewing processes for all users.
     
  12. klutvott

    klutvott SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    Tromsø, Troms, Norway
    I see at least 15 processes that can be disabled in that screenshot alone. Click "show processes from all users" to find even more. On new laptops/desktops that come with windows + bloatware preinstalled, i usually just format and do a fresh windows install.
     
  13. Xaios

    Xaios Foolish Mortal Contributor

    Messages:
    9,694
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Nimbus III
    The problem is that computer manufacturers ship their own proprietary OEM builds of Windows with the their machines which include the bloatware the machine came packaged with. Even if he were to reformat and reinstall, if he did so from the disc or drive partition included with the system, he'd wind up back at square one. He'd have to purchase a new, separate copy of Windows to get one with no bloatware. The bloatware can generally be removed after the fact, however. That's the route that I would try first.
     
  14. klutvott

    klutvott SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    Tromsø, Troms, Norway
    There's no need to use the disc that came with the computer. Any windows installation dvd can be used as long as it's the right version. Use the OEM license key and activate by phone.
     
  15. Bekanor

    Bekanor Renegade Folk Hero

    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    436
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    These days they're getting nefarious and piggybacking drivers with their bloatware. It's a real pain in the ass.
     
  16. theo

    theo Got Hype(machine)?

    Messages:
    4,066
    Likes Received:
    450
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Au
    My lenovo is awesome. Y560p. Or was it 460... :/
     

Share This Page