Rundown of the Mesa Subway Bass DI-Preamp

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by IdentityDevice, Oct 24, 2017.

  1. IdentityDevice

    IdentityDevice SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Got a Mesa Subway if anyone is wanting to check it out or thinking about getting it or whatever :)

     
  2. Fathand

    Fathand Tube Snake Boogie

    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    98
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Finland
    Not too shabby, the eq seems to be pretty usable and gives out a lot of room to tweak. Would have been nice if you've cranked the input/gain, I always like to hear the hair on these boxes (because that is what defines the usability for me).

    Thanks for the vid.
     
    IdentityDevice likes this.
  3. IdentityDevice

    IdentityDevice SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Thanks for checking it out man. I wanted to do that but the volume difference would probably blow someones speakers and then they'd hate or sue me or something hahaha I'm did a video on the Alpha Omicron today and will probably redo it tomorrow because I just wasn't happy with it but i'm wondering now if I should set the level or move it around as you suggested. hmmmm. What do you think? I did move it around today but it's crazy differences in volume and I had to go in and automate the volume in spots that got insane loud. I want it to be an honest and accurate representation but I just don't want it to be painful or a pain in the a** to listen to/watch.
     
  4. Fathand

    Fathand Tube Snake Boogie

    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    98
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Finland
    Hmmm.. If the overall volume goes bonkers while you crank the input (and not move the Master), then I think it's designed to be like a pre / post gain setup, and not a pure gain vs. master volume. The idea might be that it simulates an older tube amp (preamp tubes, power amp tubes) in that sense that to get a better sound you have to crank it. Is there any level adjuster for the DI?
     
  5. IdentityDevice

    IdentityDevice SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    No just a level knob. Level, blend, Alpha/Omega, and drive knobs.
     
  6. IdentityDevice

    IdentityDevice SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    You know what man I think I might be mistaken. On the Alpha I think the level actually just acts as a volume. Getting a better idea after listening closer in headphones. So I should be good to just leave the level alone.
     
  7. gingerman

    gingerman SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Moscow, RU
    Interesting device, never even heard of it
     
    IdentityDevice likes this.

Share This Page