Ring finger vs One finger per fret technique

Discussion in 'Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques' started by elegost, May 19, 2017.

1. elegost

elegost SS.org Regular

When i started playing guitar back before the interwebs I somehow picked up the message, either from a teacher or from a magazine that the most efficient way to finger when playing leads was "one finger per fret", by which i mean, for example, if you want to play a pentatonic scale shape, you're using your pinky for the 3 fret stretch on the low E and top B and E strings.

I've gotten good at this, my pinky is useful, but i'm def not a shredder.

Now that we have the magic of youtoob, i have been noticing in videos that a lot of really fast players seem to use their ring finger and mostly ignore the pinky, even for 3 fret stretches. This actually makes sense b/c the ring finger is much stronger. I'm thinking maybe i learned bad technique by using my pinky so much and I'd be faster if i retrained to use the ring finger even for big stretches.

what do you guys do?

2. sezna

sezna undermotivated

In the end, it is all personal preference. What follows is my opinion:

Using the pinky often is far superior. It may be weaker when you start playing, but after you adjust via practicing, you have so much more versatility. It is generally seen as bad to only use the first three fingers, you will stretch and injure your hand and be lucky to stretch more than five frets.

Also, I grew up playing in an orchestra where using the pinky is the desired technique as well. It sorta is hard for me to watch people like Andy James and Sarah Longfield who never use their pinkies. I know it probably isn't true, but it gives me the vibe that they don't put much effort into technique and could be better.

Explorer likes this.
  3. Kaff

Kaff SS.org Regular

Personal preference / disciplines, but for me, Pentatonic scales are played so you play the first note on a string ALWAYS with the index finger and the second note with