Re-Fretting my Douglas Hadron. Advice/suggestions??

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by Skitzoification, Mar 22, 2012.

1. Skitzoification

Skitzoification Randall Die Hard

Alright guys, I'm having a hard time choosing some new fretting for my Hadron 727, since I'm pretty new to fretting and the whole Tone-Chasing trade, I'd like to ask one of you for some advice. The hadron In general has bad fretting to me, It has string buzzing In random but consistent spots, no matter what the action Is (I've already set up the floyd and adjusted the truss rod for A E A D G B E). :scratch: I want something that will help the strings become more snappy and produce more sustain, Wider/thicker and taller, But not TOO HUGE I don't want a set of 22 Parking Bars on my fretboard. :lol: Stainless Steel Is a plus, so I'm already set on that Spec.

-Thanks In Advance

P.S I can't really post a NGD yet, I have a shitty Camera Phone, Looking to get a real camera soon.

Munch and Empryrean like this.
  2. Empryrean

Empryrean Undecided forever

Wait, so you want frets to change the tone of your guitar? :scratch:

3. Skitzoification

sorry, I didn't really mean to come across as looking for a better tone, I was just trying to make the point I'm fairly new to the whole "Preference" adventure.lol

But I just want new frets that make the guitar strings have better, and more sustained response.

4. eddiewarlock

eddiewarlock SS.org Regular

why not just level the frets instead of replacing them?

5. Purelojik

Purelojik SS.org Regular

^+ also if your not experienced you might shave off too much material. i say find a luthier and pay him to get it set up and playable. it'll be worth it. Stainless frets are a bitch in every way. yes they pay off but they destroy your tools and take forever to work with. luthiers charge a lot more also to put in SS frets

6. Skitzoification