Questions About Stabilizing, Staining, Finishing Burl

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by Elmendorf, Nov 9, 2017.

1. Elmendorf

Elmendorf SS.org Regular

Hey Dudes.
    I'm a luthier in training who is also a full time freshman in college and I have some experience refinishing my guitars, primarily solid candy colors or finishing hardwood tops. I threw myself into the deep end and started building my very first guitar from scratch, a neck-thru telecaster. Everything has been fine and dandy so far, but I have some questions about finishing the body. I plan on putting a buckeye burl piece that I've had lying around onto the top. My plans were to Stabilize it with black resin, then dye the burl red. should I do it in that order? Finally, I was going to put a satin finish on it with tru-oil. Would I even get good results with tru-oil over burl and resin? Everything has gone smoothly so far and I look forward to sharing the results with you guys.

Thanks, bros

2. Lemonbaby

Lemonbaby SS.org Regular

I don't think it makes sense to slap an oil finish over resin...

3. Elmendorf

Elmendorf SS.org Regular

Suggestions?

4. LiveOVErdrive

LiveOVErdrive CNC hack

Put a couple layers of shellac in between?

Or just test Tru oil over resin on scrap and see how it works.

5. Lemonbaby

Lemonbaby SS.org Regular

Although I try to avoid epoxy whenever I can, I know that many builders use it for pore-filling before spray painting. Should work perfectly fine when sanded lightly with a fine grit and painted with a satin 2K paint.

Elmendorf likes this.
  6. Elmendorf

Elmendorf SS.org Regular

Thanks, dude. Ill try and put a picture up here once semester ends.

7. JimF

JimF SS.org Regular