Punching through the mix

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by Monsterhawk, Sep 14, 2016.

1. Monsterhawk

Monsterhawk You're killin it bro

I'm sure there's tonnes of threads about all this sorta thing but im new to the chop and change side of things!

I've played for a good few years but ive only recently got into swapping the components on my axe's.

I've got by for a while with the standard PU's in my JS22-7 (i know there's a few mixed reviews but this beast has blown me away, especially for a £200 guitar) they've been great for practicing and have been good in the studios until recently as I'm finding that amongst the mix of the new band I've recently stepped into, a lot of my notes just aren't cutting through enough. I play lead in a heavy band, think Parkway, Attila and a bit of KSE mixed together so there's a fair amount going on and were mainly Drop A/B standard.

I'm looking for something that really gives it a kick, I've been eyeing up the Nazgul/Sentient set up but I'm looking for a bit more input from more experienced axe weilders!

Any advice at all?

2. TedEH

TedEH Cromulent

IMO cutting through a mix is going to be more the amps job than the pickups job. You pickup will shape your feel/dynamics/etc, but the amp is what's going to propel you forward into the mix. Pickups make a difference, but the amp make *more* difference. :2c:

I would look first at the amps being used, relative volume levels, what ranges each instrument is sitting in, etc., then consider pickups as a possible solution to what you discovered. In lots of bands I've seen, the guitar ends up using way too much low end, so as soon as you push for some volume, you compete with the bass and the two instruments end up burying eachother. Cutting through a mix means finding and sitting in a sonic space that isn't already occupied by everything else.

3. Monsterhawk