PRS SE 7 string build quality.....

Discussion in 'Sevenstring Guitars' started by FILTHnFEAR, Jul 8, 2018.

1. FILTHnFEAR

FILTHnFEAR Infidel

I'm seriously on the brink of picking up one of the Axe Palace limited run PRS baritone 7's.

I'm wondering if the build on PRS at this price level will be worth adding the price of upgraded pups, tuners, and possibly bridge to it. Or if I would get better build quality from the new Schecter SLS Elite with the Fishmans that I was about to pick up.

It would be a bit more with the upgrades for the PRS than the Schecter, but not significantly so. I have no experience with PRS, but these are gorgeous.

How different of a neck profile be on a PRS 7 string compared toy 1527? I'm guessing a little thicker maybe? Which would be fine.

Thoughts/opinions would be a lot of help here guys.

2. MaxOfMetal

MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

Grab the Schecter.

I say that as both a fan of PRS (USA) and not so much a fan of Schecter’s import offerings.

The SE models aren’t awful by any means, but currently, Schecter has them beat on quality and features. Especially on 7 strings.

3. Vyn

Vyn Not a Sparkly Vampire Contributor

Not the only one considering one of those Axe Palace SE's. That green one is fucking gorgeous

FILTHnFEAR likes this.
  4. HeHasTheJazzHands

HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

I owned an SE SVN, and I just got a Kenny Hickey Schecter.

The fretwork was better on the SE, but I much preferred everything else about the Kenny.

FILTHnFEAR likes this.
  5. cip 123

cip 123 SS.org Regular

They're made in the same factory as schecter, end of the day it comes down to the store you buy from in my experience with things like this.

I know stores that will put guitars on the wall with such bad fret work strings will get caught under the fret ends.

But I know stores who will take that same model and set it up before it goes on the wall.