Programming Courses?

Discussion in 'Computers, Electronics, IT & Gaming' started by sezna, Jun 8, 2016.

1. sezna

sezna undermotivated

Hey guys, I'm a CS student in college looking to supplement my education with some big-name buzzword topics. Namely deep learning.

I get the idea, but I wanted to take an online course or two to actually teach me the implementation process. I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions other than the Jason C courses on udemy (he splits deep learning up into many lessons and every single one is $35... :ugh:) or the UToronto course on coursera. Or experience with those two that will make me want to take them.

As a broader question, in general, what are some good online course providers for programming and mathematics subjects?

2. crupez5

crupez5 SS.org Regular

3. CapnForsaggio

CapnForsaggio Cap'n (general)

4. ThePhilosopher

ThePhilosopher Reason User Contributor

Have you considered looking at resources from Big Data University or other statistical/data analytics sites? The statistical side of machine learning is easier to delve into (as it tends to be applied) than the pure mathematics of the theory behind machine learning, unless of course you're comfortable with real analysis.

MIT Open Courseware isn't bad either:
    Mathematics of Machine Learning | Mathematics | MIT OpenCourseWare

5. thraxil

thraxil cylon

My friend Rebecca (who wrote Wekinator), just did a MOOC that's a very gentle introduction to ML (more for artists and non-technical people): https://www.kadenze.com/courses/machine-learning-for-musicians-and-artists/info

Enrollment is closed at the moment though.

Here's a free online book that goes into deep learning that looks pretty good: Neural networks and deep learning

AFAIK, Norvig's PAIP is still *the* classic AI text: Paradigms of Artificial Intelligence Programming: Case Studies in Common Lisp: Peter Norvig: 9781558601918: Amazon.com: Books