Power Supply

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by fob, Sep 18, 2017.

  1. fob

    fob SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    So I recently moved my set up to have a better over all sound, and while it does sound better, it's difficult to turn all the speakers individually on and off every time it's required because of the shape of the room. So is it bad for the equipment if I use the power strip to turn everything on and off at once?
     
  2. KingAenarion

    KingAenarion Resident Studio Nerd

    Messages:
    3,615
    Likes Received:
    172
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    What sort of power strip is it? Like model?
     
  3. fob

    fob SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    General Electric. I was reading up and basically got the answer that it's totally fine. Of course computers or EHDs have a proper way to be shut off, but these can be shut off with a power switch fine.
     
  4. NickLAudio

    NickLAudio Audio/Video Engineer

    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Location:
    NY
    You should be fine. Although it is common practice to turn your monitors on last in the chain. That way any equipment making signal "pops" while powering on doesn't damage your monitors. Same goes for anything feeding a live preamp such as your interface's pres. Pops going into "hot" pres can clip the hell out of them.
     
    Overtone likes this.
  5. fob

    fob SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Yeah that's what I saw and have been doing. Is the reverse true? Turn OFF the monitors first before the interface?
     
  6. NickLAudio

    NickLAudio Audio/Video Engineer

    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Location:
    NY
    Correct :agreed:
     
  7. billinder33

    billinder33 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    If you have a rack, I'd get a 1u Furman. Power all your units on and off from the faceplate if you can, everything else that has rear switches goes off when you power down the Furman.

    My Dynaudio monitors though, I actually never turn off. I may be crazy, but I actually feel more comfortable with them on all the time. Probably just neurosis/paranoia...
     
    bostjan likes this.
  8. bostjan

    bostjan MicroMetal Contributor

    Messages:
    13,403
    Likes Received:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Location:
    St. Johnsbury, VT USA
    I've done it that way for >15 years for my live sound reinforcement setups.
     

Share This Page