Pod w/ Impulses Live?

Discussion in 'Live Performance & Stage Sound' started by HattersGonnaHat, Apr 11, 2012.

  1. HattersGonnaHat

    HattersGonnaHat SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Lately I've been interested in trying out a new rig, but I'm still a little confused on exactly how it would all be set up. My plan is to use a Pod HD Pro, but with a laptop running a DAW, running a click track for the drummer and automatic MIDI patch changes at the correct point in the song. I'm also not satisfied with the Pod's stock cab sims, and I want to use the laptop to run other IR cabs (Guitarhack, Redwirez, etc.). I want to send the resulting signal to the FOH as well as a personal powered monitor.

    I understand I need an interface to pull this off, what would you recommend for my situation? Is this even feasible? :scratch:
     
  2. AlexWadeWC

    AlexWadeWC SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    1,484
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Of course it's feasible!

    You'd need an interface with at least 2 or 3 routable outs. You could do 2 outs, 1 for your click track to go to the drummer, and 1 for your guitar tone. Or you could do 3 if you wanted to incorporate backing tracks in your live set as well (tons of bands do this, various effects and what not from album sessions so your songs live sound like they do on CD). But you would route your POD signal to an input on your interface (with the cab turned off), and then apply whatever impulse you would like on the channel strip for the POD. Then you would set that channel strip to let's say Output 2 on the interface. Make sure the channel strip is Stereo but panned to the center and then you would run Output 2 into a Stereo DI box. Now you have your left and right outputs out of the DI box that are outputing the exact same signal, your POD tone with the new impulse. Send one side to FOH and the other side to your powered monitor. Wah-lah!

    And obviously your interface needs Midi IN/OUT if you want to send patch changes to the POD via Midi Events in the DAW.
     
  3. xeonblade

    xeonblade SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Location:
    Serbia, Europe, Earth
    I would rather go midi controller > interface > all VST setup > interface out.
     
  4. HattersGonnaHat

    HattersGonnaHat SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Wow, thanks for the detailed response, dude! Couldn't have asked for any better really. Big fan as well :hbang:
     
  5. KingAenarion

    KingAenarion Resident Studio Nerd

    Messages:
    3,578
    Likes Received:
    156
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    You're going to need a really reliable computer, and a really reliable low latency interface.

    Which is going to cost you.

    RME and MOTU are the only brands I can think of that are both physically tough and have good enough drivers to be able to do this well other than specific guitar interfaces.
     
  6. HattersGonnaHat

    HattersGonnaHat SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Hmm...
    That RME Babyface looks perfect for my situation. And it would probably be wise to invest in a quality interface anyway, for studio use. As for the computer, well I suppose that's another issue in itself.
     
  7. KingAenarion

    KingAenarion Resident Studio Nerd

    Messages:
    3,578
    Likes Received:
    156
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    MacBook Pro... if you can afford it.

    The Babyface is a beautiful interface.
     

Share This Page