Pod Farm Superior Drummer and Wobble recording

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by mattwfreeland, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. mattwfreeland

    mattwfreeland SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Cincinnati Ohio
  2. Oxidation_Shed

    Oxidation_Shed Nightman.

    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Location:
    London
    I'm only on my computer speakers, but I can hear that the master compressor/limiter is going insane. There's sooo much pump.

    Try and get your levels more even before you add anything to the master chain.

    Equally, the guitars have way too much gain and uncontrolled low end. What does your signal chain look like within Pod Farm?

    I'm guessing you're new at this and it's by no means bad for beginner standard, but there are some issues that strongly need addressing. But you're well on your way to a decent sounding mix.
     
  3. xplanet2112

    xplanet2112 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Aye, agreed, far too much compression and low end. perhaps you could roll back the gain and get a bass guitar into play too. Also there are some pops and clicks from your editing. Having said that, the actual tone of the guitar sound was nice and heavy and i liked the drum sound you got there. Most people who are new to recording heavy guitars are not aware that you need to use less gain, less bass and more mids to get a more defined sound, also - because my ears are f@@K@d and I am listening on head phones, have you got two guitar tracks panned L and R? If not than look into that, there's loads of advice out there fella, go for it.
     
  4. All_¥our_Bass

    All_¥our_Bass Deathly Chuuni

    Messages:
    7,605
    Likes Received:
    459
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    M.S.F.
    Needs bass, too much compressor pumping.
    Sounds pretty good though.

    How'd you get that 'dial tone' bit at the end?
     
  5. mattwfreeland

    mattwfreeland SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Cincinnati Ohio
    Thanks guys! I wouldve recorded bass but its at a friends house, and my pod farm / guitar chain actually has two "tones" on each panned side, for higher and lower ends, one being a 5150, and the other being big bottom and the Engl, generally i use just those and a boost pedal before, and i forgot to mention i use recabinet 3 as well. and i got the "dial tone" effect using a plugin called Buffer Overide by Destroy FX Destroy FX : free VST plugins, free Audio Units
     
  6. mattwfreeland

    mattwfreeland SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Cincinnati Ohio
    Also i only have a compressor on my drums, but i was using a hard setting, so i shall tone that and guitars gain down
     

Share This Page