Physical issue playing guitar

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by Reignerrr, Jul 17, 2018.

1. Reignerrr

Reignerrr SS.org Regular

I've been practising guitar since like 5 months, and something annoying that happens to me is when i play in classical position my left trap start to feel super tight and pumped, like if i was doing shrugs, i don't know if this is normal???

2. kindsage

kindsage SS.org Regular

Look up some stretches and make sure you stretch before and after practicing. We’ve all got body imbalances or tight muscle groups. Looks like yours is around your traps.

3. 7Mic7

7Mic7 SS.org Regular

Hey man! congrats on picking up the axe!
    In my opinion its totally normal because you are soliciting back muscle that you don't usually use when sitting staight like that.
    I advise you to stretch your back and arms/wrist a lot every 20 min and try to really relax the most you can.

Its better to be sore from good posture than being like me : I played for 15 years with my guitar on my right leg and developed some nasty back and wrist problems because i was anchored on my guitar.
    Now, I do a lot of back exercise and stretching and try to implement the classical position in my practice time ( should always play like that but my old position is still my home you know..) . I can really feel my body way more relax but I also have the same problem as you. The back muscle being to weak so I need breaks every now and then.

The rule of thumbs is to stop whenever you feel tight or if it hurts and relax until its gone.
    Never overplay unless you wanna have some lasting problem :p

Hope this helps
    Peace

4. prlgmnr

prlgmnr ...that kind of idea

Try not to look down at your hands.

This might have nothing to do with your problem, but none the less.

5. lurè

lurè Thy Art Is Mambo

+1 for a stretching routine.
    Try some stretching exercices whenever you feel pain on your trap during playing.

a.png
    b.jpg

kindsage likes this.