Passive income?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by sezna, Jun 19, 2017.

1. sezna

sezna undermotivated

Anyone here have any success at trying to generate passive income? I'm a programmer and I feel like I have the technical ability to set up something pretty decent, it is just the business side of it that kills me.

My main questions are: how do you get an initial customer base for a product? How do you monetize effectively?

I guess I'm just asking for anecdotes if anyone here has tried this kind of thing.

P.S. if you can think of a web service you'd pay for, let me know :rofl:

2. tedtan

tedtan SS.org Regular

The problem I see with this is that you'll have a hell of a time trying to find a customer base and that the software will need to be maintained in order to continue to be functional, and neither of those are passive activities.

Are you more interested in starting a business or in generating passive income?

3. sezna

sezna undermotivated

Generating passive income. I plan on starting a business with another friend, and I'm hoping to open up some
    revenue streams to help me fund that and my general freedom. I realize there will be upkeep and maintaining, and I'm okay with that. I mean passive in the sense that I can forget about it for weeks at a time and just update it when need be.

I have lots of free time and programming experience, so I'm not afraid of up front effort. I just want to have a better plan before starting. I myself have been learning Chinese for the past five years and there are not a lot of centralized resources for that, so I was thinking of making a utility site for that with all the features I missed from other services. A lot of up front work but then subscription money.

I also have experience programming for MMO games, but those require a lot of work to get an initial base of users. And a lot more art experience that I don't have for the graphics (I'm pretty much just a programmer and musician).

4. tedtan